Healthy Raw Carrot Cake Bites And Game Night

My boyfriend and I are invited to a game night this evening, and I’ve been going through my kitchen, trying to find something to bring as a treat.  The friend we’re visiting is a strict no-carber most of the time, so I didn’t want to bake anything, yet I know he enjoys his sweets every now and then, hence I tried to come up with something to fit all those requirements (even though he has now idea that I’m going to all these lengths 🙂 ).

I love myself some carrot cake, but it’s always so stuffingly yummy that I overeat on it. I surfed the internet for some inspiration, and, after looking at what felt like billion recipes, I had enough input to experiment my own. This is a common process for me, by the way. There are recipes that I wing all the way, but for some, I do read up on several of my cookbooks and some internet recipes until I feel confident that the ingredients I already had in mind will work together.

I wanted these to be raw, as I didn’t feel like baking or cooking the carrots beforehand (it just takes so long!), so I figured I’d just pulse them a couple times in my food processor, along with a bit of apple and ginger…and that’s how the experimenting started to make:

Healthy Raw Carrot Cake Bites

  • Servings: 20 bites
  • Time: 10 min. + cooling time
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 peeled carrots
  • 1/4 grated apple
  • 1/2 inch piece peeled ginger
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. date sweetener
  • cinnamon, vanilla, piment, nutmeg
  • a dash of salt
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut

Procedure:

1. In a food processor, pulse the walnuts and cashews several time to have a fine nut flour.

2. Pour the nutflour into a bowl, then pulse the carrot, apple, and ginger in the food processor.

3. Add to the bowl with the nut flour, then add the different spices (I added about 1/4 tsp. of each, but feel free to add as much as you like), and the date sweetener. See the recipe link above for making date sweetener.

4. Knead to a dough with your hands, then form small balls, and roll in the shredded coconut.

5. Refrigerate until serving, or freeze them if you want them to keep longer than 3 days.

IMG_1329

IMG_1330IMG_1331

IMG_1332 IMG_1333

IMG_1334

IMG_1336IMG_1337

IMG_1338

They look just like little snowballs! Similar to my fake raffaellos, but with a rich carrot cake flavor!

IMG_1339

I’m super excited to bring these babies to game night!

Leave a Reply

