Lower Carb, Unsweetened Macadamia Apple Waffles

The snow has hardened overnight, and the sun is shining as if to say “Hey, check it out, I still work after all those weeks of grey and fog!”. And I am loving it! In fact, it feels like my inner child is jumping up and down with joy, which is why I am organizing a sleigh-riding get-together as I’m writing this post. I wanna go sleigh-riding, I wanna build a snowman, I wanna throw some snowballs, and I wanna roll around in the snow and make snow-angels.

Perhaps my good mood is also due to the amazing breakfast waffles I just had (just to toot my own horn here for a change 🙂 ). I have been fighting with waffle recipes for quite a while. I’ve tried a buckwheat flour / flax egg version, but I just don’t really like the strong taste and grey color of buckwheat, so I didn’t post that recipe. Standard recipes just don’t seem to fill me up, they are to buttery/eggy/fluffy, and just don’t give me that extra “healthy” feeling that I kind’a need for breakfast. So, I am glad that this version turned out so nicely!

I am actually not the biggest fan of macadamia nuts, simply because I overate on them once as a teen, and they are so fatty that they will make you feel very, very sick if you eat too many! I couldn’t help it back then, though, there were heaps in our kitchen in Tanzania, still in their shells, and it was just too much fun de-shelling them and stuffing them in your mouth. There is something victorious about removing the shells of nuts before eating them, do you feel me? Still, for this recipe, it’s great that they contain so much natural oil, as it saves you the addition of any additional fat! And, the macadamia makes these waffles extremeley filling and satisfying. Add the sour-sweetness of the apple, and you’ve got yourself perfectly crunchy, soft interior waffles!

IMG_1326

Lower Carb, Unsweetened Macadamia Apple Waffles

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup macadamia nuts, ground into a flour (75g)
  • 1/2 cup spelt-flour (60 g)
  • 1/2 grated apple
  • a dash of cinnamon
  • a dash of vanilla
  • a dash of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup plant milk (85ml)
  • 1 tsp. macadamia oil for your waffle iron

Procedure:

1. Add all the dry ingredients to a bowl. Now add the eggs and apple, and stir together.

2. Add the soy milk until you have a slightly thick pancake batter texture.

3. Heat your waffle iron to highest heat, then pour about 1 cup onto your waffle iron at a time.

4. Don’t stack your waffles on top of each other, as the lower ones will start to turn soggy. Ideally, you’ll serve these right away, with some fresh fruit, maple syrup or jam.

IMG_1317 IMG_1318

IMG_1319

IMG_1320

IMG_1327

IMG_1325

Leave a Reply

