The Best Baked Potatoes Ever And Smoked Trout Sided By Sunflower Apple Salad

Hey everybody, did you miss me? Yes, I know, that’s slightly ironic, seeing that I posted my last entry on Tuesday. But, honestly, that seems like it was two weeks ago. I am not sure why, but every day feels like it is incredibly long, and tiresome, if I may add. There has been this vicious wind blowing all week, and I daily fear the collapse of my dear appartment. Well, not really, but I don’t think I’ve ever experienced wind like this! It makes you stay inside all day – which is basically all I did all week.

Sounds pathetic? Feels like it, too. Seriously, I feel like I’m morphing into an agoraphobic, While I was still teaching my adult classes,  at least I had to leave the house in the evenings. This week, I literally only left the apartment to go grocery shopping.

Okay, I am totally exaggerating. I went jogging and walking twice, so it couldn’t have been that bad. But you get the picture about how trapped I feel inside, don’t you? I am so longing for warmer weather, kinder weather. It’s much too early in the year to be hoping for spring, but I will be damned if I give up hope!

Yesterday I also left the house to go pick up my sister for a girl’s night. I love spending time with my sister, as she is one of the few people I can be extremely random, giggly, stupid with  without feeling moronic. Of course, I made her dinner, and asked her if she had any requests. I could have saved myself the trouble, as lately all she ever seems to want to eat is pizza. I am not sure why, maybe she has some sort of salt-craving that she can only manage by eating loads of pizza?

I did NOT want to make pizza last night, especially since I recently got tested for yeast-intolerance and, as it turns out, I don’t manage that too well, either. I have had my share of frustration over that, so there’s  no need to feel sorry for me (too badly), but it just means that my bread- and pizzabaking is more or less annoying to me at the moment. Perhaps the intolerance will go away if I just leave yeast out for a while, but in the mean time, pizza is one of those things that I need to crave extremely badly before I deal with making pizza dough WITHOUT yeast. I have tried it once in the past two months, and, honestly, it just wasn’t the same. 😦

I therefore convinced my sister that I am quite capable of dishing up something equally yummy to pizza, and, for once, she admitted that my food tastes delicious (and I say “for once” with a huge grin on my face and an ironic glimmer in my eye):

IMG_1420

The smoked trout I bought, so I can’t take credit for it (and anyone who is vegan won’t want it, anyway), but the rest on that plate was just a heavenly delicious concoction on my part! I dare say these baked potatoes were the best I have ever made! They had a crisp, firm outer coating, and inside were perfectly mushy and soft! I have NEVER eaten potatoes which were better! Seriously! Which is very hard for me to admitt, as I’ve made baked rosemary potato wedges that were amazing, as well. Still, this recipe tops anything “potatoey” I’ve posted so far.

IMG_1414

Baked Oven Potato Dice With Smoked Trout Sided By Sunflower Apple Salad

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 30-40 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the oven baked potato dice:

  • 6-7 small potatoes

for the seasoning of the baked potato dice:

  • 1 tsp. coarse sea salt
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1-2 tsp. water
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed/chopped finely
  • 1 tsp. herb mix for potatoes (all-natural, no artifical enhancers! See picture below for herb mix)

for the sunflower apple salad:

  • 2/3 head romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 1/2 apple
  • 2 chopped green onions
  • 1-2 Tbs. sunflower seeds

for the dressing:

  • 1 Tbs. lime-infused olive oil (if you don’t have any, make sure to add 1-2 tsp. of freshly squeezed lime juice)
  • 2 Tbs. all-natural apple vinegar
  • 1 tsp. agave syrup

Procedure:

1. Wash the potatoes, scrubbing the skin thoroughly. Dry off, then chop into dice.

2. In a large bowl, mix together seasoning ingredients for the potatoes, then add potato dice to the bowl, stir around, and allow to infuse for 10 minutes.

3. Preheat oven to 200°C, then start preparing your salad by mixing together all the ingredients for the dressing. Make sure you whisk the fluids together well, until they start “pearling”.

4. Chop the green onions and apple, as well as your lettuce, and add to bowl with dressing. Do not mix together until right before serving, otherwise your salad will turn soggy.

5. On a baking tin lined with baking parchment, spread out your potatoes. Place into the oven for 12 minutes.

6. While your potatoes are baking, fill sunflower seeds into a small pan, and roast carefully for a few minutes. You will not need any oil for this.

7. After 12 minutes, take out the potato tin and stir around the potato dice, turning them from one side to the other. This will make sure they brown evenly. Put back into oven for another 7-10 minutes, until they are as brown as you like them to be. Mine were done after a total of 20 minutes.

8. Now, mix your salad with the dressing, and arrange on two plates. Spread the toasted sunflower seeds on top, and arrange both the potatoes and trout (optional) on the side. I added some horseradish and cranberry jam on the side for the trout, but that is, too, optional.

The herb mix is made up of the following ingredients:

IMG_1410

Make the “marinade” for the potatoes, then chop them up into dice-sized pieces.

IMG_1407IMG_1409

While the potatoes are marinating, whisk together the ingredients for the dressing:

IMG_1411

…cut up the ingredients for the dressing…

IMG_1412IMG_1413

…and toast the sunflower seeds, and mix your salad:

IMG_1417

Place the marinated potato dice in the oven.

IMG_1415 IMG_1416

You will not need any extra oil when you roast them in the oven, just make sure they don’t burn by continuously rotating them around the pan. You don’t want them to brown too much, as they will turn too bitter! Better start on lower heat if you are afraid you won’t pay enough attention!

…and finally, take the beautifully baked potatoes out of the oven:

IMG_1419

If you want, you could simply make these for dinner, and dip them into a homemade yogurt dip! I’m serious, these are perfect, you can taste a hint of garlic, and the herbal mix I coated them with not only added to their crispness, but gave them such a round taste that both my sister and I devoured this whole baking tin full just the two of us!

IMG_1421

And, there you go – a light yet balanced dinner meal, incorporating all food groups, and adding some healthy omega-3 fats (in the fish). If you are vegan, you’ll still get some healthy fats and a bit of protein from the sunflower seeds, but feel free to add some more veggies, for example some roasted broccoli or cauliflower to the mix! You can just chop them up and season them in the same bowl with the potatoes.

My sister and I also had dessert, but I’ll post that separately! Enjoy this for now. 🙂

Update: The delicious Oatmeal-Cookie Strawberry Dessert Topped With Vanilla Coconut Cream is online!

Leave a Reply

