Crunchy Crusted Whole Spelt Millet Loaf

It was my boyfriend’s birthday on Sunday, and, just as I’ve told you about his family and their family birthdays, there was an insane number of people crammed into our usually not too tiny apartment – but 30 people in our living room was really pushing it! I made myself rare, because I really don’t love such a huge crowd, and took care of cleaning dishes and re-filling the plates.

In Germany, it’s very typical to have bread and cold sausage & cheese for dinner. Which posted a bit of a problem on my end, as we had all this amazing bread from my boyfriend’s favorite bakery around, leaving it’s yummy smell in my nose for two days – and it felt like it was laughing at me from the kitchen counter, saying “I know you can’t eat me, but I’ll keep smiling in your face anyways!”. I wasn’t going to be beat up by a meager wheat-bread, so I decided to make my own, using now yeast or wheat flour:

IMG_1446

And yes, I succeeded. I succeeded good, my friends!

The great thing about this loaf of bread is its incredibly crunchy crust, and yet soft and slightly wet middle…the texture could remind of a heavy banana bread, if it weren’t for that crust…I placed this beautiful loaf of bread right next to my boyfriend’s birthday bread and it finally stopped harrassing me!

Crunchy Crusted Whole Spelt Millet Loaf

  • Servings: 1 loaf
  • Time: 15 min. + 30 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 250g cooked millet
  • 200g whole-spelt flour
  • 200g spelt flour (or substitue for more whole-spelt flour)
  • 100ml water
  • 1 packet baking powder (12g)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

If you already salted the millet while cooking, 1/2 tsp. salt extra is enough – if you cooked it without adding salt, make sure to add at least 1 tsp. if not 1 1/2!

Procedure:

1. Mix together your dry ingredients. You’ll get a very crumbly, slightly sticky mixture.

2. Pour in the water and knead into a dough – it should be a firm dough that no longer crumbles, so feel free to add more water, if you need. It depends on how sticky your cooked millet is.

3. Preheat oven to 200°C. Line a baking tin with a baking sheet: cut it into a rectangle that fits exactly into the tin, it will make it easier to remove from the tin after baking. Press the dough down firmly into the tin.

4. On top of the dough, cut into the top, making a criss-cross pattern to keep the top from crackling open.

5. Bake for 30 minutes, or until top has your desired brown-ness.

Make sure you allow the loaf to cool before slicing it. Keep refrigerated!

I’ve made you some picture steps as well:

IMG_1432IMG_1433

IMG_1434IMG_1435

…and the result is crunchy, yet not dry in the middle…

IMG_1436

Take out of the oven and allow to cool before removing from baking tin!IMG_1437

Isn’t it beautiful? And you can really not taste the millet grains, it tastes like a “normal” bread! I have tried it with both sweet and savory spreads, both were amazing. This is right up at the top of all the breads I have ever made, packing in lots of iron due to to the millet! It’s definitely able to compete with my seed-packed fluffy bread, which I recently deemed my best bread!

IMG_1438

Be sure to store this loaf in the fridge, though, as the “wet” millet may make it go bad quicker than normal bread. Or, you know, stuff your face with it until it’s gone.IMG_1445

Leave a Reply

