Oatmeal-Cookie Strawberry Dessert With Whipped Vanilla Coconut Cream

As promised in my previous post about girl’s night with my beautiful sister, I made a dessert that night to top off my menu of baked potatoes, smoked trout, and apple sunflower salad. See the link above for the recipe, it was great! I had to pull out the big guns for dessert to match dinner, but I think I managed!

First of all, I had made the greatest oatmeal cranberry cookies ever. I have posted an oatmeal raisin cookie recipe before, and those were great, but I didn’t have any eggs around the other day, so I looked for a vegan version – and, while it’s not my recipe, the cookies turned out amazingly yummy! Check out the recipe by “Back To Organic” here. I used brown sugar instead of coconut palm sugar, vegan margarine instead of butter, as well as cranberries instead of raisins, and spelt oats instead of “real” oats. I would reduce the amount of sugar next time, as I felt like they were extremely sweet. I guess I should have trusted my instincts and go by my standard rule of always reducing the amount of sugar in American recipes…but I’ll do better next time, and perhaps post the complete alterated recipe then. And, I gotta admit, I am chronically unable to make normal sized cookies:

IMG-20150114-WA0004

At least when they are that big, you can have just one and be satisfied. 🙂

Anyways, these were just part of the amazing dessert I made. I crumbled one of these into a dessert bowl along with some frozen strawberries. As they thawed, the strawberry juice soaked the crunchy oatmeal cookie crumbs, which was amazing!

I used the brand “Bamboo Garden” for the whipped coconut cream. For instructions on how to make whipped coconut cream, use this recipe and add one packet all-natural vanilla sugar as you are whipping it.

My sister and I devoured this dessert in a heartbeat. When you take a look at it, you’ll understand why:

IMG_1427

Oatmeal-Cookie Strawberry Dessert With Whipped Vanilla Coconut Cream

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 oatmeal-cranberry cookies
  • 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  • 1 can cooled coconut cream
  • 1 packet vanilla sugar

Procedure:

1. In two serving bowls/glasses, crumble one cookie each, and divide up the frozen strawberries.

2. Whip up the vanilla coconut cream and drizzle it on top.

3. Serve immediately, and enjoy!

IMG_1422IMG_1424

IMG_1425

Yum yum yum! The vanilla coconut cream makes this dessert what it is, so do NOT skip it! This vegan, semi-healthy dish would even work as breakfast, I suppose – if it is that kind of sweet-tooth day. Yes, you know what I mean!

IMG_1426

Leave a Reply

