On Healthy Food Blogs And Protein Packed Two Bean Cucumber Salad With Chopped Cilantro

This past week has been terrible. Downright horrible, and I can’t even tell you why. My mood has been all over the place, and I think that was not just due to the fact that Aunt Irma was visiting. I think I am simply starting to go crazy, as I’ve told you in EVERY SINGLE POST this week, as anyone would who is holed up in their apartment all day.

I can see you rolling your eyes at me right now, and believe me, I’m rolling them with you. But I figure I might as well be honest about my mood, and not pretend to be one of those bloggers whose life is as perfect as the food they post (see that self-made compliment? I am so smart!). I actually come across that very often: there are so many health movement blogs out there, with bloggers who tell you about the workouts they have just finished, the awesome food they continuously put in their body, their wonderful health plans and discipline and continuous weight loss and blah. I don’t mean to say that these bloggers are not being truthful, but the effect that has on me is not exclusively positive.

Maybe in that sense I am just too jealous of a person, but I start feeling inferior to all those amazingly fit people displaying their super healthy lifestyle all the time. Which is why I want to make it absolutely clear that this blog is not meant to be that kind of blog – I am far from perfect, and I eat far from a perfect diet, and I do not constantly work out. (And, again, there is nothing wrong with bloggers who do all that!) I had a terrible week, during which I stuffed my face with loads of comfort food, not all of which was healthy but obviously that’s the kind of thing one doesn’t post on their blogs.

To sum up: I am not perfect, so please don’t think that blog posts on this site, for example “A typical day“, are what my life look like all the time.

Coming back to a salad I made towards the end of the week, a salad which is very healthy and filling, and was an extreme measure to counteract all the chocolate I had had the night before because I was sad – you all know what I’m talking about, right? – this salad was great to get me back on track. For one day. Then I went straight back to feeling bloated and icky, which happens to me just as it would to any other person.

But, it did work in making me feel a tad bit happier and healthy, which is what this blog is all about: happiness-inducing healthy food. I will therefore, after this prolonged introduction, present you with a salad that brought happiness into a terrible week, happiness because it was filling, had a great fresh taste to it due to the cilantro, and crunchy cucumber slices to satisfy you in a heartbeat.

IMG_1531

A beautfiul bowl with kidney beans and white beans, as well as chopped green and red onion, cucumber, cilantro, and a yummy apple vinegar dressing.

Protein Packed 2-Bean-Cucumber Salad With Chopped Cilantro

  • Servings: 1-2
  • Time: 10 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup white beans, precooked
  • 1/2 cup kidney beans, precooked
  • 1/2 cup diced cucumber
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 2 Tbs. apple vinegar
  • 1 tsp. agave syrup
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp. salt

Procedure:

1. In a bowl, mix the oil and apple vinegar with the agave syrup.

2. Add the beans, allowing them to soak up the dressing, and start chopping the onions and cucumber, as well as the cilantro.

3. Mix everything together and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. The dressing should really have the chance to infuse the salad, and the cilantro will give the whole thing an awesome fresh & peppery taste.

4. Grind some pepper on top before serving, and enjoy!

Step 1: Assemble ingredients.

IMG_1529

Step 2: Chop ingredients.

IMG_1530

Step 3: Mix it all up!

Are you all sick of me telling you about “bad” weeks yet? Or how are your days going? I am a firm believer of the weather playing a huge role in mood swings, which gives me an excuse whenever my boyfriend asks why I am upset. But, then again, whenever my boyfriend is around, I can’t help but smile (which sounds cheesy but is totally true), and it’s impossible to be in a bad mood when you’re smiling. If you don’t believe, just go stand in front of your mirror and smile at yourself – your mood’ll be lifted in a jiffy!

Leave a Reply

