Healthy Paperthin Crêpe Rolls And My Favorite Quick Dishes Lately

Hey everybody, I haven’t got much time, as my boyfriend and I are invited to a birthday party later, but I thought I’d check in with y’all and let you know how I’m doing. I’ve had a busy week, but I’ve had quite a good studying-run so far, so I can’t complain (besides, I usually complain more than enough, so I thought I’d change it up today!). I have been frying my brain daily, though, which leaves me very tired and somehow lacking my usual creativity in the kitchen at night…

So, I’m sorry for not churning out the usual amount of amazing recipes, I am currently recooking and baking loads of the stuff I already have online, for example these:

IMG_1553

I made these Lower Carb Macadamia Waffles on Sunday, and made a double batch so I would have some left-over waffles to toast in the morning. On Sunday, I stuffed my face with two of these, topped with freshly made blueberry maple syrup, and on Monday and Tuesday I toasted one each and spread some strawberry jelly on top. I was perfectly fuelled to take on all my memorization and thinking tasks!

I have also been enjoying salads for lunch for about two weeks now, filling up on fruit for dessert, and trying to stay healthy despite all the sitting I do. Today, I had a Greek Salad for lunch, topped with dried tomatoes, olives, feta, cucumbers, and a lovely white balsamic vinegar dressing:

IMG_1559

I had some cabbage salad left over, so I added a spoonful of that as well, to get in even more fiber! This huge salad and the pear for dessert completely satisfied me and kept me full until dinner.

Oh yes, and for an easy snack in between, or as breakfast, I have been loving my Ice Cream Smoothie Bowl! It’s so variable, and I love changing it up by adding different types of fruits, granola or chopped nuts, or even crumbling a cookie on top. The other day, I mixed a spoonful of soy yogurt in as well, and enjoyed it as breakfast:

IMG_1528

I don’t know how I manage to eat something cold when its so cold outside, but I have really fallen in love with this super easy dish!

Which brings me to the realization that I haven’t posted a savory dish for quite a while. I have definitely not only  been eating breakfast and salad, so I thought I’d let you know that this week, I decided I’d make my lovely boyfriend some sushi:

IMG_1556

And this picture doesn’t really qualify for this post, I know, as sushi is definitely not in the “quick and easy” category, at least not when it is homemade! I just really wanted to show you the picture though, to, well, make you jealous (I’m sorry to be devious like that).

To make up for it, I think I will now finally let you know what recipe I have in store for you today. The thing is, this is another sister-inspired one, as my sister makes – hands down – the best crêpes ever. I have no idea how she does it, but I am guessing that’s one area she just exceeds my abilities (yes, that’s hard for me to admitt).

The great thing about crêpes is that they are so easily made savory or sweet, depending on which meal you want them for. Tonight, I wanted to fix myself a quick dinner before going out to the birthday party (as I’m worried I won’t be able to eat anything there – thanks to the wheat- and dairy-intolerance!), so I gave my sister’s 3 ingredient recipe a try:IMG_1567

Healthy Paperthin Crêpe Rolls

  • Servings: 5-6
  • Time: 12 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole-spelt flour
  • 1 cup + 1 Tbs. soy milk
  • 3 eggs (sorry, this one isn’t vegan)

For a sweet version, add 1 tsp. of maple syrup. For a savory version, add 1/2 tsp. of salt. Unless you have a non-stick pan, you should spread about 1/2 tsp. coconut oil before pouring in the batter.

Procedure:

1. In a bowl, whisk together all the ingredients, starting by cracking the eggs into the bowl and adding the flour.

2. Pour in the soymilk and whisk thoroughly, not forgetting to add either maple syrup or salt, depending on what you want these crêpes for. By adding the salt, these will be fairly neutral in taste (and can still be spread with something sweet!). But if you want the crêpes to have a sweet taste, add the maple syrup.

3. Heat the pan (adding the coconut oil if needed), then pour 3/4 cup of batter at a time into the pan, spreading the batter around quickly by rotating the pan in the air.

4. After the crêpe starts forming small bubbles on top (and the batter is no longer runny), carefully flip it around using a flipper/spatula. This should be the case after about 30 seconds. Once flipped, keep in the pan for another 15-30 seconds, then take out and continue with the other crêpes.

IMG_1563 IMG_1564 IMG_1565IMG_1566

And there we go, that’s it: After repeating the instructions for all four crêpes, you can start filling them!

IMG_1568

I wanted mine for dinner, so I spread a bit of goat’s cream cheese on two of them, and filled one with salmon and one with sliced turkey breast.

IMG_1570

I finished preparing dinner in under 15 minutes, and have left-over crêpes for breakfast tomorrow. Perhaps I’ll fill one with peanutbutter and banana? Sounds good, right?IMG_1571

I arranged the two filled crêpe rolls on a plate with some cut up horseradish, half a carrot, and one sliced apple. Boy, am I full! And ready to head off to celebrate my friend’s birthday. I’ll leave you to running to the kitchen and whipping up these crêpes – talk to you guys later!

IMG_1572

Leave a Reply

