Sweet Potato Casserole With Feta And Cranberries

Good evening, everyone, and please pay attention. I have made the ULTIMATE sweet potato dish. My mom showed me a recipe last week, figuring that I would be the most likely of our family to try it out (at least that’s what I suspect the reason for her showing it to me was)…and I gotta say, it surprised me!

To think of adding cranberries to a dish with sweet potato is a no-brainer once you’ve tasted the mix, but I think I would have not necessarily been as brazen had I not had a recipe to guide me in my experimenting. I switched out quite a lot of the ingredients, as the original recipe asked for dairy and eggs, first of which I can’t tolerate, second of which I don’t like in my casseroles. This is not a vegan dish, so you vegetarians out there, I have made this specifically for you! And, well, for myself. Just a bit selfish there, I know. 🙂

Making the casserole requires a pre-cooking of the sweet potatoes, peeling them, then dicing them, and chopping up a leek. However, the real prize for extra effort can only be won if you don’t have access to your kitchen while preparing this dish. that sounds a bit strange, I know, but my lovely boyfriend decided to hang a new kitchen cupboard today, and I wanted to cook simultaneously – which, eventhough our kitchen isn’t super tiny, still doesn’t work.

I therefore had to whiz into the kitchen anytime he left to get a screwdriver or nail or something, making sure not to be in his way, but at the same time getting this casserole on its way. I was starving, as I went for a run today for the first time in 2 or 3 weeks…so I couldn’t wait for this wonderful dinner.

Normal preparation time (if you precook your potatoes) is 15 minutes max – I needed about 30 minutes today, but had a lot of getting up and checking whether the kitchen was free inbetween. It then bakes in the oven for 25 minutes, and rests in the oven for another 5 minutes, making this whole dish a 45-minute-feat. So, if you are short on time, perhaps make this dish the coming weekend? If you do decide to go to the store straight away, let me assure you that you will definitely not regret making the extra effort on a weeknight!

IMG_1610

Eventhough there are sweet potatoes and cranberries in this casserole, it is far from a “sweet” dish. For those of you who dislike sweet potatoes, you can switch them out with “normal” potatoes, but you’ll have a less soft texture (which is common for sweet potatoes). Or, you could go really crazy and sub out the potatoes for some pumpkin, making this lower carb!

IMG_1604

Sweet Potato Casserole With Feta And Cranberries

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 precooked middle-sized sweet potatoes (use 6 if you’re subbing them for “normal” potatoes)
  • 1 leek
  • 2 Tbs. chopped parsley (I only had frozen parsley in the house, which worked fine)
  • 1 red chili
  • 90-100g dried cranberries
  • 1 thumb-sized piece of ginger (fyi: I have small thumbs)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 200g soy cream (9%)
  • 3 Tbs. of water
  • 2 tsp. coarse seasalt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 200g goat’s feta (if you are vegan and really want to try this recipe, maybe you could sub out the goat’s feta with some vegan parmesan or nutritional flakes – I haven’t tried this, but please let me know if you try it!)
  • a sprinkle of paprika (optional)

Procedure:

1. Peel your precooked sweet potatoes and cut them into 1/2 inch dice.

2. Finely slice your leek, and wash carefully – a lot of dirt tends to get stuck in those!

3. Preheat oven to 180°C.

4. Chop the ginger, chili, and garlic cloves, and dice 1/2 of the feta. In a large bowl, combine the sweet potatoes, leek, ginger, chili, garlic, parsley, and the diced feta.

5. In a smaller bowl, mix together the salt and spices (excepting the paprika), and then add the water. Whisk together carefully, then pour into the larger bowl filled with the sweet potatoes etc.

6. Fill this mixture into a casserole, and then slice the other 1/2 of the feta. Spread out the feta slices on top, and, if you like, sprinkle some paprika on top (not shown in the picture).

7. Bake for 25 minutes, then turn off your oven and let the casserole rest inside the oven for another 5 minutes. This will allow the various flavors to really seep into the potatoes!

8. Take out of the oven and enjoy immediately – perhaps fix a quick side salad to go along with this warm meal!

IMG_1607

IMG_1608

IMG_1609

My boyfriend and I devoured 2/3 of this casserole, so, if you’re really hungry (or are feeding a family of hungry boys), this will probably only serve 3. Once taken out of the casserole, the single servings no longer look that pretty:

IMG_1614

Which is why I took another picture of the half-emptied casserole dish:

IMG_1612

Convinced that this is a splendid sweet potato dish? Yup? Then go ahead and make it, and you’ll know why I am singing its praises. I won’t ever say no to an oven baked sweet potato, but this casserole just combines so many different flavors – a hint of hot spicy chili, an asian taste of ginger, the sweet potato along with the cranberries, topped off by the salty-savory feta…it’s perfect in my eyes (or, well, actually, in my mouth). Enjoy the rest of your evening, I’m off to go do some ironing…

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Casserole With Feta And Cranberries

Leave a Reply

