The Big Coconut Bowl

The sun is shining today! Yippie! It’s still quite cold outside, but after days of grey, it’s such a welcome change to see the sun shining its a*** off out there. I’m not sure what we’ll be doing the rest of today, but to know the sun is out is enough for now.

I was thinking about which recipe to post today, as I’ve made quite a few things this week, but I didn’t take enough pictures for some of the recipes, and others I wasn’t happy enough with. Finally, I decided I’d share a breakfast bowl with you – and, looking at the title now, it seems like the obvious choice. A coconut recipe on “hitbycococonuts”? Shocker!

I had this breakfast bowl on Thursday, and it was so rich in coconut that it blew my mind. I absolutely adore coconut flavor, and this bowl calls for a trifold of coconut products: coconut milk/water, shredded coconut, and coconut butter! Combined with the sweetness of a mashed banana, a sprinkle of vanilla and unsweetened cocoa powder, and topped with some thawing berries…it was a perfect morning, if you know what I mean.

IMG_1629

Well, if you didn’t before, you probably do now, after seeing the picture. The white liquidy-looking thing on top is molten coconut butter, which is my new secret indulgence. Uhm, I guess not too secret anymore now…but this blog is about sharing good, happiness-inducing food, so who am I to deny you my love for something as awesome as coconut butter?

The Big Coconut Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats / spelt oats
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup coconut water (with 2 Tbs. coconut cream stirred in for an even creamier experience)
  • 1 tsp. molten coconut butter
  • a sprinkle of ground vanilla
  • a sprinkle of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 cup frozen berries (I used blueberries and cherries)

Procedure:

1. Mash the banana and mix with the oats, shredded coconut, and coconut water. Microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.

2. Once heated, it will firm up a bit. Now melt the coconut butter, and pour it on top. Sprinkle the vanilla and cocoa on top as well.

3. Finally, add your berries.

If you’re not into reading recipes, take a look at the steps via pictures:

IMG_1623

IMG_1624IMG_1626

Enjoy the fact that the frozen berries will thaw immediately when you add them to the warm oatmeal, giving this hot-cold dish that extra “something”.

IMG_1628

IMG_1630

2 thoughts on “The Big Coconut Bowl

Leave a Reply

