The Simplest Waffles Ever: Only 5 Ingredients!

I know I haven’t been sharing as much personl stuff the last couple of weeks as I did the first months of my blog. To be honest, these days I am happy if I even get around to baking or cooking anything “new”, let alone remember to take pictures. I am sure this will get better once I have finished these horrendous exams – so, don’t worry, I’ll be back with loads of rambling and gossiping about my own life.

Till then, you’re in for recipes served straight up – sorry, but the energy I do have has to be reserved and spread out evenly amongst studying, sleeping, eating, cooking, posting. Which is why I am quite simplistic in my dishes these days – it just saves time. If something can be prepped and thrown together within a couple of minutes throughout the week, I am totally in. Hence this simple, quick and easy recipe – yummy and delicious, fluffy and with a crispy crust, filling, and did I say super simple? I only needed 5 ingredients for these waffles:

IMG_1712

Yes, there is only one waffle on that plate. And yes, I took more pictures, but they somehow got lost on my phone. If I do find them, or happen to make these again tomorrow morning, I’ll totally hook you guys up with more.

Update: I found one more picture I took in the depths of my picture files of my phone. I enjoyed my waffle with 1 tsp. of molten coconut oil mixed with 2-3 tsp. of maple syrup. Simply dip in the “hearts” and enjoy! (I recently discovered Grade C maple syrup in Germany, which is just so much more amazing than Grade A…so yay me!)

1423855916297

The fact is, this recipe makes 2-3 waffles, making it perfect for a 1 person meal plus leftovers. I tend to make small batches of pancakes and waffles, as my boyfriend doesn’t consider this breakfast – it’s dessert, if anything. For a larger batch, double or triple the recipe!

These waffles contain no fat whatsoever, and no refined sugar. In fact, the only sweetening comes from a banana – and the result are waffles which are not actually that sweet. Which is perfect if you want to indulge in some maple syrup or jam on top – go ahead! I made my waffles with 2 eggs, hence these aren’t automatically vegan, but feel free to up the amount of ground flax added and add 1-2 flax eggs (or other egg replacement). If you want to reduce the carbs, sub out half of the flour for some nut meal/flour. However, the waffles won’t be as fluffy if you do.

Your dough will start out being extremely frothy, as you need to mix your eggs (or flax eggs) with mashed bananas until your dough looks like this:

IMG_1710

Then add the flour, ground flax (optional, but it makes these more filling), and whisk until a thick batter forms. This actually looks a lot like a yellow cream cheese. 🙂

IMG_1711

And that’s it. Pour into your heated waffle iron, and enjoy while they are still warm! Feel free to add whichever syrup or nutbutter you like, or sprinkle with some cinnamon and brown sugar!

The Simplest Waffles Ever

  • Servings: 2-3 waffles
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs (or 1-2 flax eggs)
  • 1 Tbs. ground flax (leave out if using flax eggs)
  • 1 cup flour (I used spelt flour)
  • 1/2 cup dairy-free milk (I used soymilk)
  • drizzle of salt, vanilla, cinnamon (I didn’t count these in my 5-ingredient promise…forgive me!)

Procedure:

1. Heat your waffle iron (if your waffles tend to stick to the iron, try using a bit of coconut oil). In a large bowl, mix together the eggs and mashed banana until a fluffy froth forms.

2. Add the flour and ground flax, and, as you are whisking away, stir in the non-dairy milk. I need 1/2 a cup, you may need more or less, depending on which flour you are using.

3. Add a drizzle of salt, vanilla, and cinnamon, stir, and you’re ready to add 3/4 cups of dough at a time to your waffle iron.

Perfect for breakfast or as a snack…and, if you do have any left over, simply put them in your toaster the next morning, and they’re as good as fresh!

2 thoughts on “The Simplest Waffles Ever: Only 5 Ingredients!

    1. I guess you could try making these as pancakes, but waffles are pretty cool…I don’t know what it’s like in the UK, but around here, you can get fairly low-cost waffle irons. I bought mine for just 11 Euros, and I do fine with it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

