Anger Management And My Favorite Steals Of Late

Carrot Cake Cookies And Adapted Banana Coconut Bread

I got really angry today. Which is nothing rare, I’m like everyone else, sometimes you just get furious about feeling…cheated. I am guessing that’s what all anger comes down to: feeling like somehow, in some way, by somebody or something, we didn’t get something that we had a right to. Whether it be attention, the last piece of cake, or, as in my case, time with my study group.

Are you laughing at me?

I can imagine you are. Which is fine, because I think I will probably laugh at myself two months from now, when my exams are over and “missing study time” sounds like the most ridiculous reason to get upset. But, today, I felt really let down, and somehow cheated. And I don’t do well with feeling angry, because I am NOT a good fighter. I didn’t grow up in a family that fought – thank God – but, I have come to realize that sometimes, fighting is healthy. My boyfriend’s mother always says that a “good fight clears the air”.

Sounds well enough, but I am still no good at it. Whenever I do get in a fight with my boyfriend (which, you know, hardly ever happens because we are the perfect couple and in love and all that :)), I do get angry, but, instead of yelling, I…cry. I can’t really help it, I just can’t scream at someone. I am a too harmony-loving person for that.

Which brings me back to the anger management issues I had today. I hate communicating via social media when actually in a fight, because it’s so easy to hide the fact you’re angry. It’s not a REAL fight. It’s not REAL anger, at least not the recipient, because they don’t actually know how upset you truly are.

And here’s the thing: that might be kind of good, eventhough I dislike the “beating around the bush” thing that happens on social media all the time. Texting or chatting allows you to take a step back, think about what you’re “saying”, and, especially when communicating with acquaintances rather than loved ones, it really helps you to keep your cool. Which is why I wrote a very passive aggressive message, sent it, knowing the recipients don’t know me well enough to decode how upset I really was (I showed the message to my boyfriend, and he laughed, saying: “I get how angry you really are, but only because I know you.”). And then I wrote another message, backing out of the fight, because, as you all can guess, I am a truly nice and kind person at the bottom of my heart.

And there’s that not-being-able-to-deal-with-unharmonious-relationships.

Let’s change the subject to something else: As I’ve been studying and cramming contents into my head, I have not had much energy and creativity for coming up with new recipes. I have not been baking or cooking less, though, just not a lot of my own recipes. I bought the OhSheGlows Cookbook a while back, and have been cooking loads off of her website and book. I can only recommend buying the book! It’s truly perfect, and I have yet to make a dish of hers that I dislike. Obviously, I like some more, and some less, but I mostly love them.

Today, I made her “Oh Mega Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookies“, and I absolutely adore them. Just take a look:

“Stolen” Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookies

(@OhSheGlows)

IMG_1724

Yup, these are thick, gooey, crunchy (due to the toasted walnuts I switched for the pecans), and the super sour-sweet cranberries (that I switched for the raisins) are in such good harmony with the shredded carrots and ginger that there is really nothing not to love about these cookies. They are “breakfast cookies”, which means they are healthy-tasting, but I am loving that as I indulge in one as dessert. Only it’s not a guilty dessert, it’s a lovely, maple syrup sweetened, vegan, healthy one!IMG_1722

The ground flax in these cookies makes them nicely satisfying and filling. When I whipped up a batch of these, and they came straight from the oven, I placed two on a plate for me to snack on as I was reading through some English stuff for university…and I stopped after finishing just one! That rarely happens to me. Usually I have to restrict myself to two and hide the others away so that I don’t finish a whole batch of fresh, warm, wonderfully-smelling cookies. Not with these babies…and that’s not to say that they aren’t good, or aren’t sweet enough! They are just perfectly…satisfying.IMG_1723

And they kind’a look like a granola bar in cookie form. Or carrot cake in cookie form without the icing. Take your pick, whichever description you prefer!

Another “stolen” recipe I am really enjoying lately is from TheMinimalistBaker, and I made it out of sheer desparation to somehow “get rid off” a bunch of overripe bananas. My boyfriend and I hosted a 3-course-dinner for a friend (for her birthday), and our dessert was caramelized, roasted banana. I always have loads of bananas at home, as I feel like I eat at least one every day, so I had just bought a whole bunch. My boyfriend went grocery shopping before our dinner, and didn’t know we had bananas at home, so we ended up with about 20 bananas (I’m exaggerating to make a point) at home. What’s a girl to do? I froze some for smoothies and vegan icecream, but I still had three lightly browning bananas, so I decided I’d make myself a banana bread. Wanting to switch it up from my own sugar- and fatfree multicolor bananabread, I decided to try out the recipe linked above.

IMG_1657

What I love about this banana bread is that it incorporates my all-time favorite ingredient: COCONUT! Yes, coconut and bananas are a perfect match, be it in oatmeal, cookies, breadspreads, muffins, or this beautiful banana bread!IMG_1656

I adjusted several of the ingredients from the original recipe, so I’m giving you my version of the recipe. But go ahead and check out TheMinimalistBaker’s blog, I love it!

Adapted Banana Coconut Bread

This Bread is very soft and juicy, which is why you should store it in the fridge once it’s cooled down. Before you enjoy it, I recommend toasting it and then spreading a bit of nutbutter or jelly on top – strawberry is the best!

Adapted Banana Coconut Bread

  • Servings: 1 bread
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 bananas (overripe)
  • 2 Tbs. coconut oil
  • 5 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 3/4 cup soy milk
  • 1 1/4 cup coconut flour (or pulse shredded coconut in a blender for a few seconds, as I did)
  • 1 1/4 cup spelt oats (or regular oats)
  • 1 1/4 cup spelt flour (or wheat flour)
  • 1 egg (or 1 flax egg)
  • 3 Tbs. maple syrup (Grade C is preferred)

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 175°C (350°F).

2. In a large bowl, mash the bananas and the egg, and whisk together thoroughly.

3. Add all the other ingredients, and mix into a sticky dough.

4. Line a baking tin with baking parchment (to prevent the bread from sticking) and spread the dough into the baking tin.

5. Bake for 50-60 minutes, then take out of the oven and allow to cool (!!!) before cutting off yummy slices.

Alright people, that’s it for today. I hope you enjoyed my world view on anger management and hope you won’t rat me out for my “stolen goodies”. Good night, talk to y’all soon!

Leave a Reply

