Finally, The February Salad: 4-Green-Salad With Crazy Pink Dressing

I am so excited. Seriously. Somehow I have transitioned from being in a horrible, aggressive mood this afternoon, to being utterly exhilarated to be sharing this recipe with you. Sounds a bit crazy, right? Well, that must be due to the crazy pink dressing of this month’s salad:

IMG_1786

Yup, that’s the dressing, NOT a smoothie concoction! But, I am getting ahead of myself.

When I started this blog, I came up with the idea of sharing a year of salads with you…starting out with the October Salad (2014). I have recently made a new recipe category called “A year of salads”, so that you may find it easier to see all of the special salad recipes I have come up with so far! And there are a few weirdo salads in there, trust me…for example, take a look at the Freaky December Salad!

This month, I was in a bit of a time bind, as I know I won’t be able to put my mind to anything but exams next week. I haven’t been in the best of moods in February, as the pressure of the upcoming exams has been rising, and I have been freaking out quite a bit. Don’t believe me? Just take a look at any of my posts of 2015, especially this one (boy, was I angry). I have therefore been trying to come up with something cool salad-wise, and, well, I am very proud to say that I really scored this time.

This salad starts out with a base of 4 greens: lamb’s lettuce, iceberg lettuce, cilantro, and green onions.

IMG_1762

Add some pink dressing, and it’s a perfect side salad:

IMG_1766 IMG_1772

But, obviously, I wasn’t going for a side salad, I wanted the real deal: a super colorful, awesome tasting, fully satisfying lunch/dinner salad! Hence I added some roasted veggies: my Perfect Oven Baked Potato Dice, as well as some crunchy broccoli florets and orange carrot slices! I simply mixed those in with the marinade for the potato dice (see the recipe linked above), placed it all in the oven, and my toppings were done…almost!

IMG_1761

I wanted this salad to be vegan, because I like challenging myself to eat veggies-only every once in a while. Besides, this salad really doesn’t need any animal products, it’s quite great the way it is. The carrots end up tasting a bit “meaty”, flavor- and texture-wise, so, my meat-eating friends, don’t worry that you won’t like the salad.

Anyways, I decided the broccoli’s crunch won’t be enough, and therefore toasted a couple of macadamias, adding some healthy fats and protein to the salad! But, let pictures speak instead of words:

IMG_1778

IMG_1781

Are you getting excited? Do you now understand why I am psyched to be sharing the recipe with you? I still can’t believe the color of that dressing!!! This is a fully vegan, healthy, satisfying, colorful and – don’t know how else to put it – exciting salad!

It all begins with a bowl of marinated veggies:

IMG_1760

…and some dressing ingredients in a blender…

IMG_1764 IMG_1765 IMG_1768IMG_1772

And the result is just CRAZY:

IMG_1777

A beautifully colorful, multi-texture salad, including healthy fat, carbs, and protein!

The February Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 30 min
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the salad:

  • 1 packed cup lamb’s lettuce
  • 1 packed cup iceberg lettuce
  • 1 large green onion
  • 1/4 packed cup chopped cilantro
  • 2 medium sized potatoes
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 1 medium sized carrot
  • 1/4 cup halved macadamia nuts

for the dressing:

  • 5 Tbs. olive oil
  • 75ml apple vinegar (1/4 cup plus 1 Tbs.)
  • lemon juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1-2 tsp. agave nectar
  • about 8 small strawberries (frozen or fresh)
  • 2 Tbs. berry juice (I have homemade berry juice at home, but feel free to use bought berry juice, just make sure it’s all natural without added sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper

Procedure:

1. Preheat your oven to 220°C (430°F). Wash the potatoes and broccoli florets, peel the carrot, and cut into small dice/slice. Mix with the marinade described in the recipe linked above.

2. On a baking tin lined baking parchment, spread out the veggies and potatoes, and bake for 10 minutes. Then, stir the veggies around on the baking tin, and place back into the oven for another 5 minutes. The broccoli florets should be browning by now, which means you should take them off the baking tin, and place the potatoes and carrots back in the oven for another 5-10 minutes, depending on your desired browning.

3. While your veggies are roasting, prepare your crazy pink dressing: Place all the listed ingredients in a small food processor, and pulsate until smooth and creamy.

4. Mix the chopped iceberg lettuce, lamb’s lettuce, green onion, and cilantro with 1/3 of the pink dressing (save the rest for another beautiful salad). Once your roasted veggies are done, add them to the salad and drizzle about another teaspoon of the dressing on top, for “looks”.

5. In a small pan, toast the halved macadamia nuts, adding some salt and paprika (leave out salt if your macadamias are already salted). Once they are a nice brown color, add them to the salad!

IMG_1783

This made my night (which is why I can’t help myself and am posting way too many pictures of the salad), and I hope it will make yours, soon! If you want to have some roasted veggies left-over, simply double the amount of potatoes, carrots, and broccoli florets, and enjoy the next day!

IMG_1784

Leave a Reply

