Mexican Style Chicken Quiche

Somehow I still can’t quite believe that I survived my first round of exams. Seriously, this past week has been extremely taxing, taking everything I’ve got both mentally and physically. I felt like every day my body got more exhausted, eventhough I was technically not really using it except for sitting. But I guess the stress just really seeped through my entire body, giving me pain everywhere, basically. Which is why I really want to get back on track with being kind to my body, putting healthy and yummy food in it, finding my happiness, getting some more fresh air, and just basically relaxing a bit.

I started out by making a mexican style dish today. I actually prepared it for Monday, but it was food prep day today, so I spent my whole day in the kitchen (as I mentioned in my previous post). It’s been kind of hard to resist, with it just sitting on the kitchen counter smiling up at me…but I have left-over asian food in the fridge (we went out last night), so I will have to restrain myself.

IMG_1838

What I love about this quiche is that it’s so colorful, contains loads of legumes (peas, kidney beans, maize), and chewy carrots. The tomatoes combined with some chili add a “salsa” feeling. I added some chicken to this quiche, but that’s completely optional. For a vegetarian/vegan version, simply leave out the chicken! The sauce is made from soycream, so you really only need to leave out the chicken in order to make this dish your own.

I’m always amazed how one can go from these raw ingredients…

IMG_1830

…to something so beautifully yummy:

IMG_1831

I had some dough strips left over, and used them to criss-cross the top of the quiche.

IMG_1833

I also added some spelt-crackers, as we didn’t have any tortilla chips around. Besides, these spelt crackers are the bomb, and much healthier than tortilla chips!

IMG_1835

Mexican Style Chicken Quiche

  • Servings: 1 quiche
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 carrot
  • 1 chili
  • 500g red cherry tomatoes
  • 1 green onion
  • 1/2 can kidney beans
  • 75g precooked maize
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 200ml soy cream
  • 1/3 cup crumbled spelt crackers (or tortilla chips)
  • 500g chicken breast (optional)
  • 1 tsp. tomato-infused oil
  • 1 serving of this crust recipe
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. paprike
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • 1-2 Tbs. chopped parsley

Procedure:

1. Prepare the crust according to the linked recipe above, and set aside while you prepare the filling.

2. Cut your chicken into 1 inch dice, and slice the carrot, green onion, and chili. Quarter the tomatoes.

3. In a pan, heat the tomato-infused oil, and, once it’s hot, sautée the chicken dice until they are slightly brown. Add the carrots, green onion, and chili, and stir for 5 minutes. Sprinkle 1 tsp. of salt, 1/2 tsp. of paprika, 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper and a bit of white pepper on top and mix.

4. Add the legumes and tomatoes, and turn down the heat. Allow to simmer for 5 more minutes, then take off the heat and stir in the soy cream and parsley.

5. Preheat the oven to 220°C (430°F). Roll out the dough using a rolling pin, and press into a quiche pan. Use a fork to make a few holes in the bottom of the dough (this prevents it from burning and sticking to the pan). Save left-over dough and cut into stripes.

6. Fill the dough with your chicken-veggie-mixture and lay out the left-over dough stripes on top. Crumble the spelt-crackers on top as well, and press them down lightly.

7. Bake for 20 minutes, then enjoy this colorful, spicy, mexican style quiche!

IMG_1837

Leave a Reply

