No Fat And Sugar Cashew Sour Apple Cookies

So, I’ve been hybernating. I was forced to – I finally caught the flu that has had Germany in its grip since the beginning of this year. I wasn’t expecting that to happen until after I finish all my exams, but, you know, the body and its mysterious ways got the best of me.

I have seriously just been laying around on the sofa or in my bed for the last week, trying not to think about the masses of stuff I should be cramming into my brain…and failing miserably. My poor boyfriend had to tell me I would have plenty of time to study about 10 times a day (and then I stopped counting), and, now that I have been able to sit back down at a desk without sliding out of my chair due to sheer exhaustion (I know, sitting really is a task), I am freaking out again. Some things never change, do they?

Cooking and baking was pretty much non-existent last week. I don’t even recall eating anything warm until day 3 of my flu, and then it was only pasta and pesto. I therefore didn’t post anything – besides, the thought of typing made my brain scream at me loudly, so I didn’t even try.

Which just goes to show that you should share all recipes straight away, without waiting until you’re sick in bed. I baked some super new cookies before I got sick, but figured I’d wait until the following night to share…and the following night(s) I just wasn’t able. But, it allows me to share the recipe with you today, which isn’t too bad, either, as I have had to save up all my energy for studying, not baking.

The cookies are reduced in carbs; all sweetness is derived from apple sauce and dates. It’s also low fat; the only fat involved is the natural oils of the nuts used. Oh, and they’re vegan. Does it all sound too good to be true?

IMG_1858

These cookies are crunchy, yet have a moist and dense middle. Dried apple chips add a beautiful sour taste, which combines great with the sweetness of the date cream, and the puffed brown rice cereal and chopped cashews add “bite”. These are best refrigerated.

IMG_1860

To up the protein in these, I added a Tablespoon of bee pollen – the taste is nearly not traceable, but the nutritional value is so high! I also added sunflower seeds and spelt oats. To make this nut-free, use more sunflower seeds instead of the chopped cashews, and use flour instead of the macadamia meal and shredded coconut. You may need to add a bit of dairy-free milk in that case, though, as the macadamia meal is “wetter” than regular flour.

The dough itself is not too sticky, as the apple sauce adds a lot of wetness.

IMG_1851

Add the chopped cashews, sunflower seeds, and crunched dried apples ( I used my mighty powerful hands for the latter).

IMG_1852

Roll into cookie-sized balls and press down lightly before baking. They won’t really spread while baking, so feel free to place them close together:

IMG_1853 IMG_1854

After baking, make sure you have enough self-restraint to allow for them to cool, as they’ll be quite crumbly while warm. They will firm up though.

IMG_1855 IMG_1856

And that’s it! Super simple, and done in less than 20 minutes (depending on how long you need to assemble the dough).

No Fat And Sugar Cashew Sour Apple Cookies

  • Servings: 14 cookies
  • Time: 20 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cups macadamia meal
  • 2/3 cups ground shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup puffed brown rice cereal (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 cups + 2 Tbs. spelt oats (or regular oats)
  • 1 Tbs. bee pollen (optional, but adds a lot of nutritional value!)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3-4 Tbs. date cream
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 Tbs. crunched dried apples
  • 2 Tbs. chopped cashews

Procedure:

1. In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients except for the dried apples and chopped cashews, until you have a nice and smooth dough. (For the date cream, see the recipe linked above in the ingredients list).

2. Chop the cashews and crunch the dried apples ( I used my mighty powerful hands for the latter), and mix into the dough along with the sunflower seeds.

3. Preheat the oven to 175°C. Line a baking tin with baking parchment, and roll your dough into cookie balls. Place them on the baking tin and press down on them lightly, flattening them out a bit (they won’t rise much in the oven, so feel free to place them close together).

4. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Mine were in the oven for about 14 minutes, and were starting to brown on top – if you prefer a firmer “crust”, feel free to keep them in the oven a bit longer. They will feel very crumbly when you eat them straight from the tin, so make sure you allow for them to cool down!

IMG_1859

I am super proud of these very healthy cookies – feel free to have 3 of these for a breakfast on the go, or snack on them throughout the day, without feeling even an ounce of guilt. 🙂 And don’t get the flu!

Leave a Reply

