A Tired Brain And Another Tomato Mozarella Variety

I have been cramming stuff into my brain all day…even though it’s Sunday. Yes, I know that’s pathetic and sad, but frankly, I am just running out of time. I can’t seem to kick the flu that I have been carrying around for two weeks, and my second round of exams is in one week, therefore “taking a break” just ain’t an option. I have never been as afraid not to pass as before these upcoming exams…seriously. And I’m no low-maintenance exam-taker any other time of the year.

One thing that keeps me going, though, is having small and healthy snacks on the side. I haven’t really had much of an appetite since I’ve had the flu – I think the mixture of being sick and feeling the rising pressure of the exams is doing funny things to my tummy. I therefore get “hungry” at the weirdest times of the day, and fill up on very small portions. Not ideal, but I trust this will pass the moment I finish that last test.

When you can’t eat larger portions, the only way to get your nutrients in is to have snacks throughout the day – and today, I thought I’d give another tomato mozarella variety a try. I have made a vegan version before, but as I am currently avoiding raw tomatoes, I couldn’t very well make that or a typical caprese. I have had another idea in my mind for a while, and I tested it today:

IMG_1883

The carrot sticks are not really part of the recipe, I just had half a carrot lying around in the fridge that wanted to be munched on.

What I love about snacks is that they are (mostly) so simple to make. This veggie-cheese variety consists of 6 ingredients only, and is perfection in a savory and fresh snack. It’s enough for one small serving, as I said I used it as a snack. Feel free to serve a larger plate as an appetizer, or a side dish for a bbq!

With only three ingredients (plus the vinegar), this is super simple and quick to prepare!

IMG_1878

The first step is arranging it all on a plate:

IMG_1879

Next, pour your cranberry vinegar over the veggies and cheese. The sweetness will combine perfectly with the creamy, salty cheese!

IMG_1881

Optional: Add some balsamic reduction on top! I like the extra savory sweetness that adds.

IMG_1886

And there you go, that’s it. Prepared and served within 5 minutes, tops!

IMG_1885

Cucumber Goat's Cheese Caprese With Cranberry Vinegar

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 inches of cucumber, sliced and washed
  • 5 slices of goat’s camember cheese
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • tomato-mozarella herb salt (or make your own by combining italian herbs and salt)
  • 1 tsp. cranberry vinegar
  • a drizzle of balsamic reduction (optional)

Procedure:

1. On a plate, arrange the cucumber and goat’s cheese slices as seen on the picture below (if you are making a larger serving, feel free to use more cheese!) and then lay out the onion rings on top.

2. Sprinkle some tomato-mozarella salt on top, and drizzle with the cranberry vinegar.

3. If you want to, drizzle some balsamic reduction on top.

The great thing about red onion is that it isn’t as tangy as a yellow onion, so the onion rings mostly add a crisper feeling to this dish!

IMG_1887

Feeling hungry now? Go ahead, make this snack! If you’re craving something sweet, take a look at my collection of favorite sweet vegan snacks here. What are your favorite foods to snack on?

Leave a Reply

