Crispy Oat-Thins With Vegan Homemade Banana Milk

Oh my gawd, people, I’ve outdone myself. I just made THE most amazing crispy oatmeal cookies in the universe…and my judgement may very well be clouded by the iced homemade banana milk spiced with lots of cinnamon that I am sipping on, dipping my cookies in and stuffing them into my mouth whole. I am literally the cookie monster right now, and in dessert heaven.

Wanna join me? Yes, I thought so. I mean, who wouldn’t?

IMG_1907

These cookies are crunchy, crispy, and yet have a slightly chewy middle. Not quite as chewy as other oatmeal cookies I have made…remember my granola bar cookies? Or my monster oatmeal raisin cookies? Both were awesome, but neither were as crispy as these are. While my granola bar cookies beat these in health, these crispy oat-thins satisfy all your senses simultaneously:

IMG_1900

They are just sweet and nutty enough for your taste buds to be in heaven, they crunch loudly as you bite into them and satisfy that little child inside of you that loves cookie crumbs, and they look so innocent and simple that your eyes won’t mind devouring a huge number…

Oh, and the banana milk – this baby is frothy, creamy, sweet, and has a distinct cinnabun flavor due to the cinnamon mixed in. Add a couple of icecubes and chilled non-dairy milk, and it vaguely reminds of a milk shake! It’s perfect for dipping in those warm, crunchy cookies:

IMG_1904

…and then taking a big bite out of the cookie:

IMG_1905

YUM!

While these don’t qualify as “healthy cookies”, I tried my best to reduce the fat, carb and sugar count, subbing in some date sweetener for sugar and fat, and using macadamia nutflour. So, as long as you don’t overindulge, there’s no need to feel guilty (says me who just stuffed her fourth cookie into her mouth).

Start by combining your dry ingredients in a bowl, and then adding the egg, margarine, and date sweetener (linked in the ingredients list below).

IMG_1888

You’ll have a fairly sticky dough, but that’s what you want!

IMG_1890

As these are oat-THINS, you’ll want to try to get them to be as thin as possible. The second time I made these, I actually used a rolling pin to make them even thinner!

IMG_1891

IMG_1892 IMG_1893

While you are waiting for the oat-thins to cool after baking, prepare your homemade banana milk!

IMG_1894

Blend into a smoothie (I know, it’s rocket science, isn’t it?!).

IMG_1897

I love these frothy banana milkshakes…just looking them makes me taste those cookies!

IMG_1898

The tops will seem almost “whipped”, almost as if you had made some milky foam (as you would for a cappuccino). Awesome, right?

Now, your oat-thins will have cooled by now, so feel free to enjoy them with your banana milk!

IMG_1899

See, they could have been even thinner – the second time I totally rolled out the dough! If you try that, reduce your baking time, as thinner cookies will be crispy even faster!

IMG_1902

Enjoy in front of the tv on the couch with your best friends or significant other…or hide under your sheets and gobble down the bunch, enjoying these comforting cookies without guilt!

Crispy Oat-Thins With Homemade Banana Milk

  • Servings: 18
  • Time: 20 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the oat-thins:

(yield is 18 cookies)

  • 1/2 cup macadamia nutflour
  • 1 cup oats (or spelt oats)
  • 1 cup whole-spelt flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 Tbs. date sweetener
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 egg (or flax egg, for vegan version)
  • 1 Tbs. vegan margarine

for the vegan homemade banana milk:

(serves 2)

  • 2 serving glasses full of non-dairy milk
  • 1 overripe banana
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 5 icecubes

Procedure:

for the oat-thins:

1. Preheat oven to 175°C (350°F). In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.

2. Stir the dry ingredients together, then add the egg, margarine, maple syrup, and date sweetener (for recipe click on link in ingredient list). Mix together until you have a somewhat crumbly dough.

3. Line a baking tin with baking parchment. Wet your hands lightly with cold water and roll about 1 Tbs. of dough into balls, and press them down to be as thin as you’d like them to be (I wanted oat-THINS, hence I made them quite thin. Next time I may even roll out the dough).

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the outsides are browning. Take out of the oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes (they will firm up a bit after cooling, so make sure you leave them to cool!).

for the vegan homemade banana milk:

1. Place all the ingredients in a blender.

2. Blend into a smoothie. (If your banana wasn’t ripe enough, you may sweeten with some agave syrup – however, I feel like banana will definitely add enough sweetness here.)

3. Fill into two glasses, and sprinkle some more cinnamon on top, if you like.

IMG_1903

Leave a Reply

