Ginger Mint Wok With Fried Cashews

This time next week, I’ll be done with my exams. Excepting my oral exam in May, I will be completely done with tests. Wow. What’ll that be like?

I’ll tell you what it’ll be like. I’ll be back to blogging, working on the site, practicing my photography skills, experimenting in the kitchen, feeling free and happy and giddy and sunshiney and did I mention free? Wow. What’ll that be like?

I really miss being in the kitchen these days. It feels like I am never really taking the time to cook, hence the reduced amount of posts the past couple of weeks. I remember times when I posted up to 5 times a week – I just don’t have the time these days. My instagram account is blossoming quite beautifully, but that’s seriously mostly due to the fact that I am not coming up with any new recipes, and if I am, I can’t seem to get around to writing a blog post about it.

Which is why I am glad I have the time to tell you about it today: I made a truly scrumptions wok tonight. Starting today, there is no more need to order Chinese take-out: just make it yourself, at home! I am glad to tell you that this wok recipe gets by on 10 ingredients, 4 of which don’t count as they are simply veggies/chicken and can be exchanged and varied as you wish. Additionally to these 10 recipes, you may need to add salt (shocker!) and it’s optional to use a wok spice mix, if you have one. I recently was given one as a present that has only natural ingredients, no artificial additives, and therefore I was itching to use it. But don’t worry, it is truly optional!

I added chicken, but if you’re vegetarian or vegan, feel free to use tofu instead – it’ll be even better if you marinate it in a mix of wok spice and oil and a dash of lemon spice ahead of time.

I served this with both millet and rice, as my boyfriend is not a big fan of millet, but I really wanted some tonight. I also used a chinese wokspice mix that we got recently; it’s all-natural and has no artifícial flavor-enhancers or stuff like that.  It’s optional for this recipe, as I know not everybody has it, but you could take a look at the ingredients below and try adding some of the spices separately, if you’re feeling experimental:

IMG_1926

Let’s take a look at the ingredients:

IMG_1921

I am loving red onions lately, they are so much more flavorful than yellow ones, or perhaps it only seems that way because they are not as sharp in taste?!

When making this wok, it is important to add the cashews first, to allow for them to soak up some of the oil. I am not a big fan of dishes being too oily, but plump, fried nuts in a wok dish really excite me:

IMG_1922 (1)

Next, you’ll have to add the chicken, carrots (as they will need to be cooked longer than the broccoli), and onions.

IMG_1923

The mint leaves used for this wok need to be fresh for you to get the full spectrum of flavor…

IMG_1924

I just love colorful woks like this one. Who else gets excited over multicolored (natural) food? 🙂

IMG_1925

Ginger Mint Wok With Fried Cashews

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 30-40 min
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 carrot
  • 1 1/2 red onions, chopped
  • 500g chicken breast (optional, sub out with tofu)
  • 1-2 handfuls of cashews (I used 2 handfuls, I loved the many nuts)
  • 1 fresh chili
  • 2 cups broccoli
  • 2 branches fresh mint
  • 100ml vegetable broth
  • 3 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 3 Tbs. ginger and lemon grass infused oil
  • 1 tsp. of salt (optional)
  • 1 tsp. wok spice

Procedure:

1. Cook your sides according to the instructions on the packet of the rice/millet.

2. Chop up all your ingredients before heating the wok. Keep the cashews whole.

3. Heat the oil in a wok pan. Once it starts bubbling, add the cashews, finely chopped ginger and sliced chili.

4. Allow the cashews to be fried in the oil for about 2 minutes, then add the chicken/tofu and sliced carrot. Sprinkle a bit of salt on the chicken. Stir well, cover with a lid and allow to sauté for 2-3 minutes.

5. In the meantime, finely chop your mint leaves. You should really use fresh mint, I doubt it will taste as great without it.

6. Add the broccoli, vegetable broth, and soy sauce. Stir well, and bring to a boil.

7. After 3 minutes, add 1 tsp. of wok spice and turn down the heat. (The wok spice is, as I said, optional.)

8. After another 3 minutes, take off the heat and stir in the chopped mint leaves.

9. Serve fresh with some millet or rice!

IMG_1928

The cashews are what’s really special about this wok – they soaked up the oil and are nice and plump, yet toasted on the outside. The mix of mint and ginger along with the hotness of chili adds so much flavor that you hardly need anything else!

IMG_1929

Leave a Reply

