Getting Back On Track…With A Minty Strawberry Smoothie

Last week at this time, I had just fnished taking the first of three written exams needed to get my teaching degree in religious studies. I was wiped out, tired, and running on a buttload of adrenaline. I was wondering what the world would be like once I finally reached Thursday afternoon – and finished all three of my tests – and couldn’t imagine ever making it.

And yet, I’m still alive. Shocker!

I still can’t really believe I have finally made it. I don’t even know what to talk about now that I’m actually done. I don’t have to get up every morning and sit at my desk, cramming stuff into my brain. And it’s just so…weird.

Don’t get me wrong, I am loving it. I am absolutely psyched that I have gotten this far, and so proud of myself for making it through that horrific exam week without cracking. But I think it’s not really hit me yet. It feels like I am in an inbetween-phase, not really allowed to fully embrace my newly found freedom.

Which doesn’t mean I’m whining. Nope, I’ve definitely got no more reason to! Just getting used to being able to sleep in until 9.30 am and NOT feeling guilty as a result. And being able to lounge around on the couch all day, finally baking again, finally blogging again…without having to watch the clock because I should be doing something else. It just doesn’t feel REAL.

IMG_2026

These cookies, on the other hand, are very very real. And delicious. I made these after a short lunch today, changing up my crispy oat-thin recipe by adding a handful of dried cranberries and goji berries, as well as some sunflower seeds and chopped walnuts…and they’re still the most delicious cookies I have ever eaten.

IMG_1999

I celebrated with several of my friends this weekend, and yes, duly paid for it on Sunday. Alcohol’s just not meant to be drunk excessively, let me tell you…especially when you rarely drink a lot, and then decide that since you’ve not over-indulged for several month, the finished exams are reason enough to go big. Yes, I guess it was reason enough, but I really didn’t feel all that well as a result. Which is why I have been focussed on getting back on track health- and energy-wise after all that stressing, sitting, celebrating, and alcohol. Above you can see my lunch of the past two days…Avotoast and loads of cut up veggies, as well as a beautifully soft-boiled egg! I chopped some green onions and cilantro and sprinkled my avotoast with both, squeezed some lemon on top and added freshly ground pepper…and it was pure bliss despite it’s simplicity.

For breakfast yesterday, I had a fruity strawberry soy milkshake spiced with fresh mint leaves and sweetened with some overripe banana. I have rarely had such a refreshing smoothie, and plan on having it at least once a week in the future! The mint is an absolute must, taking this strawberry smoothie over the edge:

IMG_1996

FYI: My boyfriend noticed I started drinking my smoothies out of cleaned glass mason jars, and couldn’t imagine why I would do so…after I showed him a couple of the Instagram pictures of the people I’m following, he smiled and said: “Oh, I guess drinking smoothies out of actual drinking glasses is not something you do nowadays…” 🙂

IMG_1989

I love how a few simple ingredients added to a blender can produce such creamy awesomeness:

IMG_1994

The result is a thick, beautifully pink, refreshing, minty, frothy, slightly citric smoothie that can be slurped up so quickly that you’ll be surprised where that half litre has gone:

IMG_1964

Slurping…

IMG_1965

Liking what I’m tasting so much that I’m getting crazy eyes…IMG_1967

Remembering that I finished my exams…IMG_1968

Beaming into my camera. 🙂

On the side, I had a chopped up crisp apple…I always need something to “bite” along with my morning smoothie:

IMG_1997

Wow, loads of pictures today. But I have decided to post a bit more personal pictures, as I feel I’ve not really let you get a glimpse at what I actually look like, or like to do all day (besides studying). Which is also why I would love to know whether you’d like me to share more info about myself? Which questions would you like to have answered by me? Either post in the comments or on instagram, and, if enough questions assemble, I’ll do a post about myself!

Minty Strawberry Smoothie

  • Servings: 1 = 500ml
  • Time: 5 min
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 overripe banana
  • 10 frozen strawberries
  • 5-7 fresh mint leaves
  • 1 glass (250ml / 1 cup) soy milk

Procedure:

1. Place all the ingredients in a blender.

2. Blend.

I always smile to myself when posting these steps…I guess you could totally skip giving instructions when posting a smoothie recipe. Old habits die hard, though.

Leave a Reply

