It’s Smoothie Season: Frothy Carrot Apple Smoothie

I know I just posted a smoothie recipe, but I am so excited about drinking smoothies for breakfast now that it has gotten a bit warmer that I am going crazy testing out new smoothie recipes. Today, it has been raining the whole day, so I am so glad I had this wonderfully vitamin-packed frothy smoothie for breakfast. Not only did it taste good, but it contains ginger, which is known to boost your immune system to keep away a spring flu or cold.

The thing with adding veggies to your smoothies is that it ‘s hard to find your personal preference in terms of balancing the amount of veggies and fruit. Green smoothies, which are all the rage these days, are truly healthy and nutritious, but many people think the only healthy smoothies are the ones containing little to no fruit. Why is that? I feel balancing both fruits and veggies throughout the day is key…so I have loads of fruit for breakfast, and usually quite a lot of veggies for lunch and dinner. If I am craving snacks for watching a movie or something like that, I find that a big fruit platter can prevent you from indulging in unhealthy sugary snacks.

If you are interested in adding more veggies to your fruit smoothies, though, I would recommend starting slowly, and not overdoing the amount of veggies. This smoothie is perfect for finding your personal balance, and you can “train” yourself to get used to more veggies in your smoothies by slowly upping the amount of carrots that you add.

IMG_2016

I was a bit worried about the texture you get when blending together carrots and apples…I feel like it’s a bit grainy if you overdo the amount of apple. I therefore thought I’d use half and apple and the other half of an overripe banana I used in my smoothie yesterday. Combined with some allspice, this smoothie is very mild and creamy, and there’s a hint of carrot cake flavor in there.

IMG_2019

This smoothie is made up of five ingredients, but feel free to omitt the ginger, if you’re not a fan. I find the ginger taste to be very mellow in this smoothie, though, so try adding it at least once before you decide against it!

IMG_2010

Add all the ingredients to your blender, and dramatically pour the milk in while trying to capture it on your phone camera…

IMG_2011

And blend away!

 

IMG_2015

This is a truly awesome smoothie, and next time I’ll definitely add an entire carrot, as I felt like a) the color could have been deeper and b) the carrot taste was not at all bad. Carrots are a great veggie to start adding to smoothies, as they are naturally a sweet vegetable, and very mild in taste.

In the afternoon yesterday, I decided to bust out a short barre3 workout. Anybody know barre3? It’s a combination of pilates, yoga and ballet-inspired exercises, and really kicks my butt every time I do one of them. You can easily register online, and no, I am not getting any benefits by telling you about their site. I just love that you can do these online workouts anytime and anywhere, in the comfort of your living room:

IMG_2006

This picture was taken before the workout, as I am always very sweaty afterwards. 🙂

Have a nice (non-rainy) day, everyone!

Frothy Carrot Apple Smoothie

  • Servings: 1 = 500ml
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a carrot, washed well or peeled (I prefer keeping the peel on, as loads of vitamins are right below the peel)
  • 1/2 an apple
  • 1/2 an overripe banana
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 4-5 ice cubes
  • 1 glass soymilk (250ml / 1 cup)
  • one piece of ginger (mine was thumb-nail sized…if you’re unsure, start with less and add some more later)

Procedure:

1. Cut the apple and carrot into dice-sized pieces (it makes it easier on the blender), then add all the ingredients to your blender.

2. Blend until smooth and creamy (I have a “smoothie function” and let it run twice because of the carrot).

One thought on “It’s Smoothie Season: Frothy Carrot Apple Smoothie

Leave a Reply

