Homemade Nutty Easter Eggs

Easter is coming up and with it comes a big load of chocolate. At least that’s what it’s like around here – it’s all about the Easter eggs. Which is why I naturally had to come up with my own version of easter egg pralines…and I think I did quite a good job, considering these are refined-sugar-free, gluten-/flour-free, fat-free and vegan. Yeah, pretty awesome, right?

I adapted these nutty easter eggs from my healthy vegan almondball recipe (which was one of the first recipes I ever posted). Instead of using only amonds, however, I used half/half of macadamias and almonds. I partially did this because I am loving ground macadamia these days (just check out my macadamia-apple waffles, and you’ll see what I mean), but also because my mom has a few allergies and macadamias and almonds are two of the nuts she is able to eat…

IMG_2061

When making these, you can go crazy with your toppings…I used dried cranberries, dried apples, and shredded coconut, but the options are endless. Try some dried peppermint, for example, I’m sure that’ll be heavenly.

When giving gifts, it’s important to spend a bit of time on the wrapping. After having a quick, late lunch at 2pm, I started wrapping my easter gifts: homemade nutty easter eggs and some homemade crunchy cinnamon granola, the recipe for which I got from deliciouslyella.

IMG_2073

Since it’s Good Friday, no meat today…I wanted some avotoast, but my avocado was so unripe that there was no way I was gonna be able to eat it. I therefore opted for some goat’s camembert, and surprisingly flavorful tomatoes for this time of the year.

IMG_2082

The packaging was simple enough, I’m sure you could spend even more time on it…IMG_2083

But I used my best penmanship, can you tell? 🙂

As for the easter eggs: LikeI said, I adapted these from the recipe linked above, but I wanted to change it a little, so for half of the filling, I mixed in 2 tsp. of unsweetened cocoa.

IMG_2055

You’ll need a food processor or blender for this one, as you want to blend your nuts into a crumbly “flour”:

IMG_2052

The dough is formed by adding the date sweetener linked in the recipe…no oils or fat needed!

IMG_2053

Feel free to decide for yourself how large/small your eggs should be: I made about 30 small eggs.

IMG_2054

Once you start dipping them in chocolate, that’s where the fun kicks in: feel free to experiment with different toppings!

IMG_2060

As I’ve said, the options here are endless…you could try some chili powder, or seasalt, or other dried fruits, like dried gojiberries, or even some more nuts for nut-lovers.

IMG_2063

My best friend was the first to taste-test these, and got to be handmodel for the picture. 🙂

Homemade Nutty Easter Eggs

  • Servings: 30
  • Time: 1 1/2 hours
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 cups of nuts of choice (I used almonds and macadamia)
  • 2 Tbs. of date sweetener
  • 1/4 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 heaped tsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 125g dark chocolate (I used both 70% and 85%)
  • toppings of choice (I used shredded coconut, dried cranberries, and dried apples)

Procedure:

1. In a blender or food processor, blend the nuts into a crumbly flour. Mix in the vanilla and cinnamon, then separate into two different bowls with equal amounts. Mix 2 heaped teaspoons of unsweetened cocoa powder into the nut flour of one of the bowls.

2. Add 1 Tbs. of date sweetener to each bowl, and knead into a sticky dough ball.

3. Roll into egg-shaped balls and place on a plate. Then place in the freezer for 1 hour (this step isn’t necessary, but it helps with the chocolate-coating).

4. After 1 hour, melt the chocolate in a water bath, and dip the eggs into the chocolate, placing them on a baking sheet, and sprinkling them with your desired toppings straight away (the chocolate will harden quite quickly if you’ve frozen them).

5. Place in the fridge until the chocolate has hardened completely, and keep refrigerated until consuming them.

Now, to show off, some of my packaging pictures (or rather, to show you how simple it can be to make these easter eggs into “presents”):

IMG_2079

Simply place a colored napkin in a glass jar, and add a variety  of the eggs.IMG_2080

Make sure you can still fit the lid on, and tell the recipient to keep these in the fridge, otherwise they may melt and stick to the napkin!

IMG_2086

If you’d like the recipient to know what the contents are, make a label for the lid.IMG_2090

“Frohe Ostern” means “Happy Easter” in German, just in case you’re wondering and weren’t able to figure it out.

I’m so excited to present these to my family and friends! And if you haven’t got any idea what to give your friends as presents, go ahead and buy the ingredients and make these. They are super-simple, not too time-intensive, easy on the hips (at least easier on the hips than other pralines) and oh-so-yummy!

Happy Easter everyone!

Leave a Reply

