The April Salad: Walnut-Feta-Pear-Toss

My day has been fine. I got almost everything done on my to-do list, and the sun is shining its a** off today, as if to prove that it has understood our pleas for springtime temperatures. I even just had a friend over for 3 hours and we caught up over a cup of coffee and homemade bounty bars. But somehow, I can’t find my joy today. Do you know what I mean? I have had quite a few of days like these in the past two weeks, since I finally got done with my written exams. Everything should be perfect, and, trust me, I haven’t felt this free in half a year, but somehow, I keep having days during which I feel unbelievably stressed – for no apparent reason. Maybe because I am so desperately worried that if I don’t do anything for even one day, I’ll fall deep down into a hole of sheer desperation and anxiety caused by the lack of cause – after all, studying is no longer an issue, at least not to the extent that it has been. Of course, I still have an oral exam to master, but, besides the fact that I have 6 more weeks to prepare, it should be easy-peasy compared to what I already went through. I am guessing that it just hasn’t sunken in yet: I actually have reached the days that I’ve been working towards to, and will soon (in May) complete my degree and start working! What has sounded crazy far away for such a long time is within reach, and has partially become the “now”. It seems my brain needs some adjustment time. Perhaps the cruise my boyfriend and I are going on next week will help with that. Yup, you heard me correctly: we are going on a 7-day-cruise, to where there’s lots of sunshine and cocktails, and lovely beaches and fisher’s villages. I am so psyched to be getting out of here, actually embracing the freedom I now have, and feeling that last bit of excitement that my written exams are over. 🙂 I know I just made you jealous. Teehee… To cheer you up, I thought I’d present to you the April Salad today, as I feel like this one’s really awesome and so easy to toss together! It’s made up of 5 main ingredients, and, while the amount for this recipe came down to a side salad, if you double or triple the amount of ingredients, you’ll have a great main dish!

IMG_2168

My lunch today consisted of a huge cup of green tea with almond milk (my newest obsession, I fear), rye bread with cream cheese and low-fat ham, and said April Salad:

IMG_2165

The April Salad: Walnut-Feta-Pear-Toss

This secret to this salad starts with the dressing: you really need to get yourself some walnut oil, peeps. I bought this small bottle a couple of years back, and it’s lasted me ages. Since walnut oil is extremely rich and very distinct and flavorful in taste, there’s no need to use a lot of it. In dressings, I like to base everything on about 1 Tbs. of oil, so I used 1 teaspoon of walnut oil and 1 tsp. of olive oil as a base for this dressing.

IMG_2161

As promised, you only need five main ingredients: Walnuts, Feta, half a juicy, ripe pair, a red onion (it really should be a red one, so that it’s not too sharp in taste), and some washed cucumber (I prefer keeping the peel on, as I feel like it adds more “bite” – just make sure to wash the cucumber well!).

Making the salad is simple enough, just whisk together the dressing, throw in your chopped ingredients…

IMG_2162

….give it a good stir…

IMG_2163

…and voilá, you’re finished.

Notice my turquoise nailpolish? I rediscovered the color recently and had to paint my nails immediately…I love pastels!

The April Salad: Walnut-Feta-Pear-Toss

  • Servings: 1 side
  • Time: 10 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • a 5cm/2 inch piece of cucumber, washed
  • 50g goat’s feta
  • 1 red onion
  • 1/2 ripe pear

for the dressing:

  • 1 tsp. walnut oil
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. cranberry vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. white balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tsp. chopped parsley

Procedure:

1. Mix the ingredients for your dressing in a salad bowl.

2. Chop all your ingredients into dice-sized pieces and toss into your salad bowl.

3. Thoroughly mix the salad with the dressing, and, if you have the time, allow to sit in the fridge for 30 minutes (The flavors of the dressing will really infuse the ingredients, making it taste even lovlier!).

The great thing about this salad is that it has an abundance of different flavors. The sweetness of the pear (and make sure it’s a ripe, very soggy one, it’ll be great for the texture of the salad) mixes amazingly with the saltiness of the feta and “sharpness” of the red onion. The cucumber kind of mellows the craziness down a bit, and adds a wonderful “fresh” taste to the bunch. This salad can be enjoyed with any dish, and feel free to add other herbs besides the parsley! Now that it’s starting to warm up outside, I am so looking forward to repotting fresh herbs onto my balcony, where I have set up two huge flower pots. There’s nothing better than having your own supply of fresh, homegrown herbs to add to your dishes, right? Since I’ll be on that wonderful cruise next week, you won’t be hearing from me, but don’t worry, I’ll be back and hopefully have loads of new ideas after an internet-break of 7 days! See you guys!

IMG_2167

Leave a Reply

