Homemade Almond Milk Strawberry Cinnamon Smoothie

I felt a little bit like a god this morning. It kind of reminded me of an event in my childhood, back when I was about 3 or 4 years old, and I only know about this event because my grandma has told me so many times that I feel like I actually do remember. Back then my grandma and I apparently built a substantial snowman in my grandparents’ garden, and, after admiring our finished snowman, my grandma pointed out:

“Wow, Lea, we really created a beautiful snowman!”

To which I answered:

“Yeah, we’re god-dy now.” (Sidenote: This is actually a lot funnier if told in German.)

So, this morning, I felt just like that: a little god-dy because I created something beautiful.

2015-04-24 08.57.47

Following Angela Liddon’s recipe for homemade almond milk, I got this grand result: a big jar full of the best almond milk I have ever tasted in my life (and a glass full was already sneakily removed from the top jar before I took a picture…couldn’t really get my patience act together this morning)! Why in the world have I ever bought almond milk? Not only is this version cheaper, as you are able to use the left-over almond pulp, but it’s so much yummier and healthier, without any additives, thickeners or fake almond flavors. THIS IS THE REAL THING, Peeps.

I made a strawberry cinnamon smoothie using some of the pulp and almond milk straight away (eventhough I kept taste-testing from the milk jar), and the result was heavenly:

2015-04-24 08.27.12-1

In fact, it was so heavenly, that, besides the top picure that I managed to take for instagram, I only took two of a more-than-half-empty glass:

2015-04-24 08.41.04

2015-04-24 08.41.14

I’m sorry, but it was just that good. The almond pulp I added made it so incredibly thick, the fresh almond milk added a nice frothy top, the cinnamon combined with the strawberries united to explode in my mouth…OH MA GAWD! I was god-dy this morning, and created THE BEST almond milk and THE BEST (okay, one of the best) smoothies ever.

Homemade Almond Milk Strawberry Cinnamon Smoothie

  • Servings: 1 = 500 ml
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 8 strawberries
  • 200 ml (1 glass) of almond milk (preferably homemade, see link above)
  • 5 ice cubes (unless banana & strawberries were frozen)
  • 1 heaped Tbs. almond pulp (or almond flour)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

Procedure:

1. Blend away, and be happy.

After devouring my smoothie, I decided to dry the rest of the almond pulp in the oven, and after 2 1/2 hours at 70°C, it was dry and ready to use in baking etc. I’ll let you know what I do with it (I am kind’a thinking waffles this weekend…)!

2015-04-24 08.56.51

And, in the afternoon, I actually used some of the almond milk in my green tea, and, it, too was amazing. Go ahead and try the recipe linked above right now, it was great! I’m so excited to test it with other nuts!

Leave a Reply

