“Hint of Vanilla” Salted Sunflower Seed Butter

In my previous post, I talked about roasting sunflower seeds in preparation of making sunflower seed butter. I had never made it before, so I wasn’t sure whether I’d be able to post about it, but I dare say it worked! I have to admit that I still like peanutbutter more, but, then again, nothing tops peanutbutter, so why should I set my hopes on ever topping it?

This sunflower seed butter is super simple, and I added a sprinkle of salt and vanilla to counteract the natural bitterness of sunflower seeds. Roasting them in the oven for a bit beforehand helps release their natural oils, making the production of sunflower seed butter in a standard blender much simpler than, say, making almond butter.

I used thehealthyfoodie’s recipe for making this sunflower seed butter, however I made a smaller batch (I only had 4 cups of sunflower seeds at home). I therefore also added a tad less salt and vanilla than in the original recipe, but I have to say that using 4 cups of sunflower seeds is the minimum amount for my blender to still work.

2015-04-28 18.11.40

I got about 2 cups full of creamy sunflower seed butter, and filled a smaller jar to give to my mom (she has many nut allergies, so I’m hoping she’ll like it!). As I had about 1 Tbs. left-over, I thought I’d keep it for a smoothie tomorrow instead of filling another jar…

The process was simple enough: Roast your sunflower seeds in the oven for around 20 minutes at 175°, moving them around the baking tin occasionally, so that they don’t burn. Then blend until you’ve got your desired texture in seed butter, and add as much salt and vanilla (or try cinnamon?) as you’d like:

2015-04-28 17.49.10

2015-04-28 17.50.57 2015-04-28 18.04.292015-04-28 18.05.32

2015-04-28 18.05.43

Are you convinced about this seedbutter yet? It really does turn creamy quickly, not quite as quickly as when making peanutbutter, but at least you don’t have a long process of peeling the peanuts beforehand!

2015-04-28 18.11.35

Those are some full seedbutter jars, right? And, considering that sunflower seedbutter is unheard of in Germany, and online prices are crazy here, I am so proud of myself for having made it myself!

Leave a Reply

