Pretty Red Superfood Smoothie

I’ve got some sunflower seeds roasting in my oven right now, as I will be attempting to make sunflower seed butter today…it’s something I’ve wanted to test for a while now, so I’m excited to see how that goes! Looking at my recipe testing today, though, chances are high that it’ll work out splendidly!

I made a pretty awesome, pretty red, pretty yummy smoothie this morning, loaded with superfood ingredients like goji berries, which are also red. 🙂 I was getting a little tired of all the green in the mornings, so yesterday, I made a blueberry peanutbutter smoothie (see my instagram account), and this morning, I went all out trying to fill up my anti-oxidant supply for the week. It turned out so beautiful and tasty that I may just make it again tomorrow morning!

2015-04-28 08.34.20

This beauty is made up of a mix of leafy greens (baby spinach, lollo rosso, arugula, mint leaves), frozen raspberries, a super-ripe, spotty banana, and dried goji berries, blended with some refreshing coconut milk (not cream!) and thickened with a spoonful of oats, and enriched with a spoonful of bee pollen. Both the oats and bee pollen are optional, but the oats I would really recommend (and I’m guessing almost everyone can easily buy them), as they make this smoothie a bit thicker and more filling!

2015-04-28 08.27.58

Pretty Red Superfood Smoothie

  • Servings: 500ml
  • Time: 3 min
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 cup coconut milk (not coconut cream!)
  • 1 serving glass packed loosely with leafy greens
  • 4 fresh mint leaves
  • 1 Tbs. dried goji berries
  • 1 Tbs. oats (optional, but highly recommended for extra thickness)
  • 1 Tbs. bee pollen (optional)
  • 4 icecubes, if desired

Procedure:

1. Blend all the ingredients, and add a few icecubes if you like your smoothies cold.

2015-04-28 08.29.45 2015-04-28 08.30.00

2015-04-28 08.34.04

If you add bee pollen, you may taste a slightly grainy, “honey”-like flavor, so, if you’re not used to them, perhaps start by adding only 1/2 a Tbs. Bee pollen have such high nutritious value, though, that I highly recommend purchasing and investing in them…

In the afternoon, I finally got around to testing my first recipe from deliciously ella’s cookbook: I made her almond and chia energy bites, but subbed out the almonds for left-over almond pulp (from making homemade almond milk) and some cashews, as I am a bit sensitive to almonds. These energy bites, oh my gawd, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten more delicious blissballs in my life:

2015-04-28 12.31.33

These really do count as dessert! I am not saying that my energy balls don’t, my fake raffaelos, for example, really do, but I’ve never made that chocolatey blissballs, so I was so glad to have tried out that recipe!

Now, if my sunflower seed butter turns out awesome as well, this day will have been a success (at least food-wise 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

