Sunshine Smoothie Without Greens

The “Green”-Hype has been crazy in this apartment. For the past two weeks, I’ve been loading up on leafy greens in my smoothies, no matter which color they turned out! (Check out my instagram account for some particularly disturbing results, such as my BLACK smoothie!) When my sister came to visit for breakfast the other day, however, I was fed up with greens for breakfast. I therefore made a  sunshiney, pretty yellow, vitamin C-loaded smoothie that’ll get you high on its citric, lightly bitter yet amazingly sweet and creamy taste!

I have a few intolerances when it comes to food (my wheat- and cow milk issues I have mentioned before), and mango, grapefruit, and even coconut in large quantities are not good on neither my stomach nor my skin. I know, it’s disturbing to be writing blogposts for a blog called “hitbycoconuts” and then having to find out that coconuts are not the perfect match for oneself. Let’s just take a couple of minutes to mourn that fact…

…while looking at the following pictures:

2015-05-01 10.10.59 2015-05-01 10.11.01 2015-05-01 10.11.04

I’m really getting that “take a picture without wobbling while very slowly pouring liquids”-struggle down!

2015-05-01 10.12.24

Despite my intolerance to mentioned foods, I can’t help myself when it comes to eating them. Especially when mixed together in this beautiful smoothie that, just like my Sunshine Fried Rice, I made out of sheer desperation for some sun in my life. I get depravity-symptoms very quickly when it comes to sunshine!

2015-05-01 10.14.14

This smoothie is made up of fruit only, involving a healthy mix of vitamins from an orange and a grape fruit, and adding tropical sweetness via mango and frozen banana. Add some coconut milk to the mix, and you’ve got yourself a truly up-beat smoothie taking your mind to a beach, wearing a beachhat and sunglasses:

2015-04-13 13.00.32

Need I say more? My mind was totally on that cruise ship this morning.
I added some oats to make it even thicker (I love myself a thick, creamy smoothie) and to counteract the citric acidity of the smoothie, but those can totally be omitted if, for some reason, you don’t want to add them.

2015-05-01 10.07.04

Sunshine Smoothie Without Greens

  • Servings: 500 ml
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 mango
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 orange
  • 1/4-1/2 grapefruit (if you’re not a fan of grapefruit, or the grapefruit’s very large, use only 1/4, otherwise it’ll be too bitter!)
  • 1 cup coconut milk (not cream!)
  • 1 heaped Tbs. oats (optional)
  • 3-4 icecubes (optional)

Procedure:

1. Blend away, and dream up that beach in your head!

As with all smoothies, the simplicity of getting yourself a beautiful, happiness-inducing breakfast is astounding!

2015-05-01 10.08.44 2015-05-01 10.10.23

Like I said, blend all the ingredients together, adding a few icecubes if you’d like it to be truly cold/icy…and then enjoy with a pink straw, because pink straws make everything better!

2015-05-01 10.14.34-1

2015-05-01 10.14.46-1

Happy weekend! Do you guys have smoothies on weekends, or do you have special breakfast foods you only prepare when you’ve got the time on weekends? I’d love to get to know you guys better, leave me a comment below!

One thought on “Sunshine Smoothie Without Greens

Leave a Reply

