2 Breakfast Options: Allspice Cashew Milk Or Very Berry Grapefruit Smoothie

I haven’t been feeling my best the past two days, my tummy has been cramping like crazy, and I am so fed up with it. It feels like it’s rejecting something I’m eating (as in ANOTHER food-sensitivity), and that’s so annoying. It’s not that I am not hungry, but I just constantly have a tummy ache. Trust me, it’s unbelievably frustrating, I totally envy everyone who’s able to eat whatever they’d like.

This morning, I didn’t feel like a green smoothie, at least not one involving spinach – it just seemed too hard on my digestion the day before, so I figured I’d go for something with a little less fiber…hence a fruity grapefruit berry smoothie with oats it was!

2015-05-05 08.52.59

This smoothie consists of grapefruit, raspberries, strawberries, dried apricots, frozen nanas, and a few leaves of fresh basil – trust me on this, you really want to try it! There’s just something about the combo of strawberry and basil…if there were a vegan icecream with those flavors, I’d be the first buyer!

2015-05-05 08.40.27

Very Berry Grapefruit Smoothie

  • Servings: 1 = 500ml
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 dried apricots (unsweetened)
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 grapefruit
  • 1/2 cup raspberries
  • 1 Tbs. oats
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 5 fresh basil leaves

Procedure:

1. Blend all the ingredients together.

Note: I would really not leave out the oats, as they make this smoothie extra thick and creamy!

If you’re looking for a change of pace, why not try making nutmilk yourself? I recently told you about making almond milk, however I got the itches after drinking it (sensitive to almonds, too…the story of my life, ugh!), so I figured I’d make cashew milk today, as I’m positive I am not allergic to those!

And, to make nutmilk more interesting, I added some spices, and dates for sweetening! It turned out beautifully, though messily (which I hid quite well in my pictures!)

2015-08-20 09.25.34

Allspice Cashew Milk

  • Servings: 700 ml
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cashews, soaked for at least 2 hours
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1/4 tsp. ground vanilla
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 dates
  • 3 cups fresh water

Procedure:

1. Soak the cashews for at least two hours, then rinse the cashews and place in a blender with the rest of the ingredients.

Note: For a sweeter nutmilk, add more than 3 dates – I found 3 to be just right for me, not too sweet, but mild.

2. Blend for 5 minutes, until you have a creamy, frothy milk consistency.

3. Strain out the puréed cashews and dates by pouring the milk through a nutbag or a finely meshed cloth.

4. Store in the fridge for no more than 3 days, in glas jars.

2015-05-05 17.46.27

As you can see in the picture, I originally thought of adding 5 dates, decided to start with 3 and would have added more if it hadn’t been sweet enough.

2015-05-05 17.49.34 2015-05-05 17.51.57

After blending it just looks so much prettier…

2015-05-05 17.53.39

The cookbook in the background is the Oh She Glows Cookbook, which I am using to bake my lovely sister a birthday cake (double layer chocolate fudge cake with chocolate-avocado-frosting…yah, I know, sounds awesome, and smells awesome as it’s baking at the moment!).2015-05-05 17.54.02

Using a nutbag probably yields quicker results, but I did just fine with this finely meshed cloth before I owned a nutmilk bag!

2015-05-05 17.54.192015-05-05 17.59.06

I do recommend investing in a nutmilk bag if you are going to make nutmilk regularly in the future, simply because it makes less of a mess, and it’s much faster.

2015-08-20 09.10.46

I filled my cashew milk into truefruits smoothie jars I have left-over:

2015-05-05 18.08.26

The filled glas I downed immediately, because oh my gawd you guys, this cashew milk is the bomb! It’s milder in taste than almond milk, and oh-so-creamy…if I hadn’t poured it in those jars, I think I would have drunk it all in one sitting. Now I just need to refrain from running to the fridge and chugging down the rest!

Alright, I think that these two breakfast options will have you covered for the rest of the week…trust me on this, both of these “beverages” are totally worth the effort!

Oh yeah, what to do with the pulp?

2015-05-05 18.11.57

I made these awesome chocolate praline balls out of mine by adding just the right amount of coconut flour, maple syrup, and cocoa. But I saved around 1 Tbs. for a smoothie tomorrow…you could use it in baking as well, as in my Healthy Vegan Carrot Bread or freeze it for later use! Just don’t store it in the fridge for too long, or it’ll go bad pretty quickly!

3 thoughts on “2 Breakfast Options: Allspice Cashew Milk Or Very Berry Grapefruit Smoothie

  1. I really like the sound of the cashew milk. I haven’t made my own nut milks before, but I’m starting to get sick of buying them, knowing that the containers can’t be recycled and that the pulp is usually wasted. Thanks for your detailed photos – it looks really easy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

