Raw Vegetarian Zoodle Bowl

I have not nearly achieved as much as I had planned for this morning. Some days the time runs out and you’re not even sure why. Well, I do know why, it’s mostly because I called a dear friend of mine who has just broken things off with her boyfriend…and that kind of trumps cleaning the bathroom. I then had to run to the grocery store because I’m making a buttload of salads this weekend: it’s my boyfriend’s grandmother’s birthday today, and my dad’s birthday on Sunday, both of whose parties require some salads, and I gladly obliged. 🙂

But, since I had a lot less time on my hands than expected, I made myself a very, very quick lunch. I think it took me exactly 5 minutes to whip this baby up – and that’s the perfect kind of lunch for busy days, right?

My family and friends often shake their heads when I tell them about the dishes I have recently tried making, exclaiming that they wish they had the time to put so much effort into their cooking and baking. While I do have a LOT of time to be in the kitchen, seeing that I’m at home all day and am NOT on any kind of specific schedule, I do have busier days, and I don’t spend nearly as much time in the kitchen as it may seem…I think I just have the whole meal-prep thing down by now! Last Sunday, for example, I already precooked the beans I planned to use on Tuesday to make some soup, which meant that making the soup took a whole lot of 15 minutes (if you leave out the fact that my blender exploded and drowned the kitchen in a big batch of green pea rain). 15 minutes for lunch? C’mon, everyone can do that!

IMG_20150512_123642

This picture displays my tremendous, vegan, wheat-free tomato-foccacia, and green mint-pea soup from the deliciously ella cookbook. As far as cookbooks go, this is my most recent, and I must say I adore the recipes! It’s really worth your money, trust me.

For lunch today, I spun 1 1/2 zucchinis through my spiralizer, and blended some raw tomato purée I had leftover from making a mean bolognese this week with some herbs and feta to make a super-simple-yummy-creamy-tomato sauce! This ain’t vegan, but vegetarian and extremely yummy (AND quick and easy)!!

2015-05-15 12.10.27

Raw Vegetarian Zoodle Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 medium zucchinis
  • 250g tomato purée
  • 1/2 tsp. fine sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 small garlic clove
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1/3 of one packet of goat’s feta (whole packet = 200g)
  • pepita seeds for topping (optional)

Procedure:

1. Spin your zucchini through a spiralizer to make zoodles. (I use the Gefu Spiralizer.)

2. In a food processor or blender, place all the ingredients listed above, saving a bit of the feta and the pepita seeds for topping. Blend until smooth, then taste and add more pepper or salt, as you desire.

3. Serve the zoodles with the raw tomato sauce, and top with a bit of crumbled feta and the pepita seeds, if using.

This recipe was so delicious, light, and unbelievably easy to prepare! The only thing you really need to do is use a spiralizer and press “go” on your food processor. SUPER easy.

If you don’t own a spiralizer, I suggest you buy one – you can spiralize carrots, zucchini, cucumber, radishes, basically whichever vegetable you want! I like to mix some zoodles into most of my pasta dishes, especially if I’m making spaghetti. It lightens up the dish and adds some sneaky extra veggies! If you don’t want to buy one, you can make tagliatelle zoodles by using a simple veggie peeler.

Next, make your sauce by simply placing all the ingredients in your food processor. You could also use fresh tomatoes to make this, especially if you’re concerned about it being completely raw.

2015-05-15 12.12.42 2015-05-15 12.13.33 2015-05-15 12.14.12 2015-05-15 12.14.18

I thought about giving vegan options, but I haven’t tried any. I guess adding some nutritional yeast and cashew butter would work, but I can’t give you any specific amounts. Let me know if you test a vegan version!

2015-05-15 12.17.21

Since the zucchini is raw, the zoodles will actually have some “bite”, as if you were eating spaghetti “al dente”. I love how veggies can be used to make knock-offs of our favorite starchy dishes, yet leave us feeling lightly satisfied and energized to take on the rest of the day! I know I’ll be having pizza tonight, as my boyfriend’s grandma only recently discovered her passion for pizza, so I didn’t want to eat anything too “heavy” for lunch. This was perfect, and I finished off my lunch with two chocolate blissballs!

While being low in carbs, this dish packs loads of vitamins and protein, as well as healthy fats from the feta and pepitas! If you really are hungry, try mixing some “real” pasta in there, and you won’t realize that you’re eating zucchini.

Have a nice rest of the day, and enjoy your weekend! I’ll be studying for my final oral exam on Tuesday, and I’m feeling a cake recipe coming soon in order to celebrate!

2015-05-15 12.25.23

Leave a Reply

