The Truest Green Smoothie

When I call this green smoothie the “truest” green smoothie, I am referring to the fact that not only the color is green, but 84% of the ingredients are GREEN! Additionally, this green smoothie is wonderfully creamy, has the perfect amount of sweetness, and it’s thickness speaks for itself. If you like milkshake-texture, this green smoothie is the one for you!

I have made plenty of green smoothies that haven’t been amazing enough to post on here, and I feel like green smoothies don’t always hit the spot for me. Now I have finally made one, though, that I know I can make any time, even if I’m not craving any greens! Actually, this might as well have been a green salad bowl, it would probably still taste good! Just imagine some baby spinach, celery, cucumbers, a green apple, kiwi, soy beans, and hemp. Sound good yet? 🙂

2015-05-21 14.05.42

This smoothie is actually banana-free, which I’m particularly proud of, as some people (like my sister) hate bananas! It still has that deciding creaminess to it, though, even without the bananas…so cudos to the avocado!

Adding hemp protein to the smoothie is completely optional, but I find the hemp protein to a) fill me up even in small amounts, and b) it makes the smoothie even thicker. You could also add a spoonful of oats instead!

2015-05-21 13.53.10

I used soy-rice milk as a liquid in this smoothie, but, obviously, any other (plant) milk would also work…not depicted in the picture above are 3 dates that I added for extra sweetness…I really liked the smoothie with three dates, but if you don’t want it to be so sweet, add half a kiwi instead.

The Truest Green Smoothie

  • Servings: 1 large glass (700ml)
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of spinach
  • 1/2 green apple
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1 small cucumber (or 1/2 a larger one)
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 celery stick
  • 1 heaped tsp. hemp protein (optional)
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups of plant milk of choice
  • 4 icecubes
  • 3 dates (optional, but recommended)

Procedure:

1. Place all ingredients in your blender, and blend for at least 1 minute. If the smoothie is too thick for your liking, add more plant milk or a splash of water.

2015-05-21 14.05.57

I was truly amazed at this smoothie, and felt so good drinking it all up! I actually enjoyed some of my homemade vegan peanutbutter cups on the side, and am now super stuffed and energized for tutoring this afternoon.

2015-05-21 14.09.12

This recipe makes a very large amount of smoothie, and, since I didn’t have lunch today, it was perfect, but, for breakfast or as a snack, I would divide the smoothie into two portions. Which is even better, because whomever you share this with, they will love you for it!

2015-05-21 14.07.37 2015-05-21 14.07.49

Leave a Reply

