The June Salad: White Bean Vienna Sausage Toss

So, it’s that time of the month again: A new salad for my A Year Of Salads Category is coming up on the blog. I’m amazed by the fact that I haven’t run out of ideas yet, to be honest, but I am determined to fill the category with a year of salad recipes…meaning I gotta keep going till September!

This salad may seem a little unconventional, after all, vienna sausage ain’t for everyone. Usually, it isn’t for me, either, but, I don’t know what’s going on, I was really craving it for some reason. As I told you in my previous post, I am all about getting back to ACTUAL balance, so I am trying to give in to some of my “unhealthier” cravings. Besides, I’m pretty sure one vienna sausage sliced into one huge salad bowl isn’t going to kill me.

If you are vegetarian or vegan, feel free to swap the vienna sausage for a tofu one! Or, you could simply skip it, as the white beans provide enough protein and make this salad satisfying as is. The really good thing about this salad is the dressing – as is usually the case. I recently had a really yummy salad while I was eating out with my boyfriend, and the dressing was a yummy mix of tomatoes and herbs…I highly doubt a lot of oil was involved. It was so delicously “fruity”, and I tried to recreate said dressing.

2015-06-08 12.50.03 2015-06-08 12.56.22

Just as vienna sausage is usually served with tomato ketchup and on a bun, this salad is dressed in a yummy, fairly creamy tomato vinaigrette that’s a little on the sweeter side of salad dressings.

The June Salad: White Bean Vienna Sausage Toss

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the dressing:

  • 3 medium tomatoes
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1 tsp. honey
  • 1 Tbs. balsamic vinegar
  • 3 Tbs. white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. fresh parsley
  • 1 small garlic clove
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. ground pepper

for the salad:

  • 1 handful of lettuce
  • 3 inches of cucumber
  • 1 handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 turkey vienna sausage (switch for tofu for vegetarian/vegan version)
  • 2 Tbs. white beans (cooked)
  • 1 green onion, chopped

Procedure:

1. Place all the ingredients for the dressing in a blender or food processor, and pulse until a smooth dressing forms.

2. Wash and chop your lettuce and veggies, and place in a big salad bowl along with the sliced sausage and white beans.

3. Add the dressing, and mix together.

2015-06-08 12.58.202015-06-08 13.00.14

2015-06-08 13.00.31

You could use this dressing on any other salad, of course!

2015-06-08 13.01.46 2015-06-08 13.02.41

2015-06-08 13.08.11

Doesn’t that look delicious? Go on, try making this salad and enjoy on a warm, sunny day, when you’re feeling like a lightened up but satisfactory, and very different salad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

