Light Green Lime Smoothie

I should really be mopping the floor right now. I absolutely hate mopping, though…I really don’t mind most of the cleaning business, but, for some reason, mopping (and ironing) are the two things I just really dislike doing. Which is why I am procrastinating by writing you this blog post, hoping that somehow it’ll be easier to deal with in half an hour. 🙂 But it really is tragic when you know you have mopping AND ironing to do in the same day.

So let’s just focus on this smoothie, then. I have gotten a bit out of the habit of drinking (green) smoothies for breakfast the past two weeks, for whatever reason. Perhaps because I started sleeping in a bit longer, relishing the fact that I could, and then feeling so terribly hungry by the time I got around to eating that I feared a smoothie wouldn’t cut it. But, this week, I have started getting up between 7 and 7.30 again, which is MUCH better for me.

I know, those of you who are morning grinches must be shaking their heads in disbelief right now. Why would anyone in their right mind get up that early if they had a choice? Well, I just don’t do well with sleeping in. I prefer going to bed early, I am a morning person through and through! And, it’s not like I have to start my day by delving into work, I can start with some relaxing yoga or by watching last night’s news, or writing a blog post.

Anyways, I kind of set myself the goal of getting back into doing sports this week, and starting to drink smoothies again, simply because both do me so good and I always feel amazing if I’ve gone for a run early in the morning and have a yummy smoothie after. I have been more and more into making smoothies completely “green” and lowering the amount of fruit I add, mostly because I love snacking on fruit as is, and if I add a whole buttload into my smoothie, then I’m getting a huge load of fruit that is kind of taxing on my tummy, I fear. So, reduce the amount of fruit and up the greeny goodness I did. (Woah, had a Yoda moment there.)

2015-06-09 08.25.55

This morning’s smoothie was inspired by one of my most recent blog finds, The Detoxinista. She has a similar recipe, but I changed it up a bit, upped the protein, and sweetened it with dates instead of honey or agave. I absolutely adore this smoothie, have had it two days in a row and can’t see myself stopping soon.

2015-06-09 08.24.49

It’s so light and refreshingly citric, but still tastes like a creamy milkshake, which is amazing. I am so adoring my new hemp protein powder, it works its (texture) magic every time!

Light Green Lime Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2 handfuls of fresh spinach
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 1 cup coconutwater + 1/4 cup water
  • 10 icecubes
  • 1 tsp. hemp protein powder
  • 5-6 dates (medjool is preferred)

Procedure:

1. Place all the ingredients in your blender, and blend until smooth and creamy.

2. Taste-test for sweetness and texture, adding more water and/or dates if desired.

I absolutely adore the simplicity of this smoothie! By the way, if you don’t have hemp protein powder, feel free to add a Tbs. of oats instead, that generally results in an equally satisfying and creamy smoothie experience. 🙂

2015-06-09 08.13.51

I just got these beautiful large medjool dates at the store, and have to keep myself from running to the kitchen every 5 minutes and gobbling them all down with some nutbutter spread inbetween. On the picute, you can only see 4, I ended up adding 5 to my smoothie, and thought it was perfectly sweet without overpowering the yummy citric lime taste.

2015-06-09 08.19.52 2015-06-09 08.21.22 2015-06-09 08.25.51

I honestly doubt the same taste can be produced by using lemons instead of limes…the two do taste very different, so please go and get yourself some limes before trying this smoothie!

2015-06-09 08.26.10

Of course, you can switch the coconut water for any other plantmilk, but I do find the “light” taste is more prominent with coconut water, which is why I generally love using it for my smoothies! I am sure cashew milk would also work wonderfully in this smoothie!

2015-06-09 08.26.17

Have a nice Tuesday, everyone! I’m out of excuses, so I’m going to get myself mopping now.

Leave a Reply

