Chocolate Praline Balls (Or: How to Use Up Nutmilk Pulp)

Remember a while back, when I made All-spice Cashew Milk? I made a huge mess, and the only thing that made up for the “work” was the taste of that blissfully creamy, yummy cashew milk. Homemade nutmilk is the best, and, now that I’ve finally bought myself a nutmilk bag, the mess isn’t as bad as it was when I wrote that post.

Still, one question has been lingering in the back of my mind ever since I started making nutmilk myself: What the heck should I do with that gooey, sticky, left-over nutmilk pulp?

Yes, my friends, I have finally found the perfect answer. After playing around with the nutmilk pulp a bit, using it as frosting, as a smoothie-add-in (which is the simplest way of using it up), and even eating it plainly, I have finally found the PERFECT way of using it up. Trust me on this – you’ll start making nutmilk just so you can use the pulp to make these.

I have yet to try making these with any nutmilk pulp other than from making cashew nutmilk, and I kind of doubt it will work as well with, say, almonds. I imagine macadamia would also work, as they also become as soft and creamy once blended into a milk. I always end up with a nutmilk pulp consistency similar to the dried up cashew butter part at the bottom of the jar…

2015-06-10 20.18.12

If you mix that with just the right amount of shredded coconut, unsweetened cocoa and maple syrup, something amazing happens: You get a wonderfully thick, gooey, delicious praline-dough that you can roll into balls and cover with even more chocolate.

2015-06-10 20.19.42 2015-06-10 20.22.19

2015-06-10 20.26.19

AW MAH GAWD. So simply, so easy, and right there in front of us all along! Why did we ever waste cashew nutmilk pulp by throwing it away? NEVER AGAIN!!!!

2015-06-10 22.00.51

Chocolate Praline Balls (Or: How to Use Up Nutmilk Pulp)

  • Servings: 11 balls
  • Time: 10 min. + 15 min. + 10 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • left-over cashew nutmilk pulp (about 1/3 cup)
  • 2 Tbs. shredded coconut
  • 2 Tbs. unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 Tbs. maple syrup
  • 50g dark chocolate

Procedure:

1. Mix all the ingredients except the chocolate in a bowl, until a “dough” forms.

2. Roll the dough into small balls, I made about 11 same-sized ones.

3. Freeze the balls for 15 min.

4. Melt the chocolate over a water bath.

5. Coat the frozen balls with chocolate, allow to cool, then store in the fridge until serving. Will keep for at least 3 days, longer in the freezer.

The chocolate coating is optional in theory, but I highly recommend it. It adds that true “chocolate praline” feeling, with a hard chocolate “crunch” on the outside, and a yummy, creamy, gooey middle!

2015-06-10 22.00.34

Keep these refrigerated, and consume within 3 days (not 3 minutes :)). They’ll keep longer in the freezer, of course…unless you gobble them all down at once, that is.

One thought on “Chocolate Praline Balls (Or: How to Use Up Nutmilk Pulp)

Leave a Reply

