Green Peanutbutter Strawberry Smoothie

Another morning, another green smoothie. I’m really getting into these green babies lately! Luckily, there are about a million ways you can combine greens and fruits, so that every day you’ll have a new taste explosion for breakfast! Just take a look at how many green smoothie posts I have on my blog:

Detoxing Green Smoothie

Anti-Cold Smoothie

Green Kiwi Smoothie

Green Coconut Smoothie

Light Green Lime Smoothie

The Truest Green Smoothie

Wow, seeing all these in a list I just realized that with today’s green smoothie is number 7 in the list – so, if you wanna do a Seven-Day Green Smoothie challenge, here you go! I’d Go for the order already listed, and add this green peanutbutter strawberry smoothie after the green coconut smoothie. 🙂

At the beginning of a green smoothie week, “detoxing” is a good idea. Even though a detox is not really a medical term, I like to use it when I’m talking about getting my digestive system up and running again, and aim to feel a little lighter. Therefore the Detoxing Green Smoothie is the one to start with!

After that, the Anti-Cold Smoothie packs in some invigorating ginger and spicy rocket, really getting your digestive juices flowing. The first two days of green smoothies may therefore seem like a little “hard work” on your palate, but, trust me, it’ll get better! On a seven-day Green Smoothie Challenge, you wanna work towards a goal, so starting with Day 3, it’ll get a little “milder”, taste-wise. Both the green kiwi smoothie and the green coconut smoothies are yummily sweet, and the final two smoothies are basically milkshakes. At least that’s what their texture an taste screams.

Okay, after that little detour thinking about a seven-day green smoothie challenge, let me tell you about the smoothie I’ve made today.

2015-06-12 09.35.51

I recently made a dessert peanutbutter banana shake, which didn’t pack any greens, but loads of deliciousness. I am happy to say that this green smoothie is very similar in taste, perhaps just not as sweet and, obviously, it packs veggies, too! This smoothie also uses oat milk, which I just recently got the hang of making by using Deliciously Ella’s Recipe from her cookbook. Also, I just recently got this sweet lupins vanilla protein powder, and it’s the bomb in this recipe. I love that it’s an unsweetened protein powder, but the real ground vanilla comes through so lovely and mild, yet intense.

2015-06-11 14.05.45

Throw in a couple of strawberries, and you’ve got a fruity taste in the mix as well!!! Sadly, the strawberries throw off the green color a bit, so that it really could be more vibrant. However, trust me, the color won’t really interest you once you’ve tasted this.

2015-06-12 09.36.42

And, additionally, I threw some celery sticks in there as well (I was all about “throwing” this morning) – the three goodies bananas, strawberries and celery sticks go so well with peanutbutter that this smoothie really is the bomb.

Green Peanutbutter Strawberry Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 cup unsweetened oat milk
  • 1 celery stick
  • 1 heaped tsp. sweet lupins vanilla protein (see note)
  • 1 heaped tsp. peanutbutter

Note: If you don’t have sweet lupins vanilla protein, add 1/2 a tsp. of ground vanilla and a Tbs. of oats. It will result in the same taste and texture.

Procedure:

1. Blend until smooth, then enjoy!

2015-06-12 09.30.43

2015-06-12 09.36.32

The banana really wanted to pose in front of the green smoothie, so who am I to deny it these few moment in the spotlight?

2015-06-12 09.36.50

Have you ever done a seven-day green smoothie challenge? Or even a five-day one? If you haven’t, I hope this post has provided you with enough inspiration…let me know which one of these is your favorite!

Leave a Reply

