Vanilla Protein Waffles With Healthified Strawberry Syrup

Every year, I wait tables at a local vintner’s, and have been doing so for the past 5 years. Seeing that on paper (or, more like, on the screen) makes me feel kind of…old. It is slowly but surely starting to dawn on me that I actually am done with university, and am about to embark on the rest of my life. Gosh, I’m poetic today.

Anyways, waiting tables at this vintner’s has become a part of my life, at least those 3 weeks of the year he sells his wine in his yard. This is a typical thing in Germany, at least in our region: my boss has a job other than being a vintner, but three weeks of the year he runs a little yard restaurant, where he mostly serves his wine, but also sells some food along with it. Hence my working there as a waitress.

I love waiting on tables there, and, as I’ve been doing it for so long, I know my regulars and their drinks. Yup, I’m a little proud of that. 🙂 But mostly, I love waiting on tables there because the whole staff has worked together for so long that it feels like we’re a small family business. Which, in part, is true – my boss’ whole family works there. And, this summer, it’ll be the last time I work there.

Aaaawwww.

I am sad and happy simultaneously about that. Sad because yet another part of my life at university is coming to an end…and I’ve truly liked working as a waitress, even if it is hard work. Happy, because, well, it’s HARD WORK. I rarely feel as tired physically as I do after a 12 hour shift of waiting on tables. But, it’s alright, it only lasts for a few weeks at a time, and the rest of the year I don’t have to wait on tables at all.

So, this afternoon I’m off to work, and so I thought I’d fuel up with a big breakfast today. Eating regularly (and healthily) during these days is quite difficult, as I literally don’t get any time off to eat in between. After a few days, everybody just stuffs their face everytime they walk through the kitchen, simply because you’re hungry and will take whatever you can get your hands on within the five seconds you have. NOT very healthy, and I really don’t like that part. So, it’s important I eat well before I go, otherwise I won’t make it until I do have time to eat my dinner at about midnight.

This morning I made myself waffles using my new sweet lupins protein powder. I have never really used protein powder before discovering the vegan (and therefore dairy-free, which is important for my stomach) hemp protein powder. At first I honestly was slightly sceptical about it being useful in the sense that it makes you fuller for longer…but I was positively surprised! It’s the same for the sweet lupins protein powder I got myself; what I especially like about it is the added ground vanilla, which makes it delicious in “milkshakey” smoothies and baked goods.

2015-06-17 09.34.11

Now, these waffles are filling FOR REAL. I made a fairly small batch of dough which resulted in “only” two waffles, which I aimed to finish, but I only managed one. The combination of extremely filling oats and protein powder make these perfect for satisfying you on hungry days!

2015-06-17 09.32.30

I combined these fairly sweet waffles (due to a mashed banana I added) with a homemade strawberry syrup that’s so simple to make you won’t ever crave the processed stuff again!

Vanilla Protein Waffles With Healthified Strawberry Syrup

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

for the waffles:

  • 1/2 cups oats
  • 1/2 cups spelt oats (or more oats to be gluten-free)
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. soy or coconut yoghurt
  • 1 large mashed banana
  • 1 egg (or 1 flax egg to be vegan)
  • 1/3 cup plant milk (I used soy-rice)
  • 2 Tbs. sweet lupins vanilla protein (or other protein powder)

for the strawberry syrup:

  • 1 cup fresh or frozen strawberries
  • 1 tsp. maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. coconut butter

Procedure:

1. Mash the banana and mix with the egg (or flax egg), yogurt, and plant milk.

2. Add all the dry ingredients and whisk until smooth.

3. Heat your waffle iron, and, unless it’s truly non-stick, spread around a little bit of (coconut) oil before adding the dough. Note: Make sure the waffle iron is truly hot before you start, as this dough is very sticky.

4. For the syrup, heat the cup of strawberries in the microwave for 1-2 min. Mash with the maple syrup and coconut butter using a fork.

5. Serve the waffles with the strawberry syrup immediately, while still warm and crispy.

These waffles can easily be gluten-free if you use oats instead of the spelt oats, and vegan if you sub out the egg for a flax egg. Just make sure your waffle iron is truly hot, as the missing gluten means these waffles have a tough time forming an actual waffle rather than a sticky mess.

2015-06-17 09.14.09

2015-06-17 09.19.16 2015-06-17 09.24.45

2015-06-17 09.27.19

This easy and delicious strawberry syrup can easily be used in oatmeal as well, or with pancakes, of course! If you would like it to be even sweeter, feel free to add more than 1 teaspoon of maple syrup!

2015-06-17 09.31.491

And these waffles, they are truly amazing! They are nice and crisp on the outside, soft in the inside, and just the right amount of sweet due to the banana. The riper the banana, the sweeter the waffle – simple equation!

2015-06-17 09.33.49

I ate mine by dipping the individual waffle “hearts” into my strawberry syrup, and munching on a crisp apple on the side. Add some coffee with creamy cashew milk on the side, and you’ve got yourself the perfect mix of protein, vitamins and healthy fat for breakfast!

And, the best thing is, as I only managed one, and can have seconds for breakfast tomorrow…which I’ll really need after waiting on tables all night, I’m guessing.

2015-06-17 09.33.59

Leave a Reply

