Nut-Free Cranberry Oat Blissballs

I’m physically exhausted. Waiting on tables for 8 hours a day is seriously getting to me, so I am soooo relieved I only need to last for 3 more days. It’s not even the 8 hours that make it so bad, it’s more of the weird hours (4pm to 1am) with absolutely no break inbetween, combined with a slightly higher alcohol intake than usual (I work for a vintner, and part of the deal is tasting the wine you sell). My skin looks like a train-wreck these days, and don’t even get me started on my eating.

I have been trying super-hard to stay on point food-wise throughout the past week, but it is incredibly hard when you don’t have the time to sit down for dinner at a normal time, and have to make it through the night until after your shift. At that point I’m usually so exhausted and hungry I don’t even care about anything but going to sleep with a full tummy. I’ve been filling up on smoothies for breakfast, though, which has given me the occasional vitamin-kick, at least!

Needless to say, I am looking forward to getting back to my “normal” routine, and have a little something planned for next week, so stay tuned for more frequent updates! In the meantime, I’m snacking on my most recent blissballs, hoping they’ll get me through another night without a huge binge at the end of it. All those of you who have crazy schedules – I get what you’re going through, if only for a short period of time.

2015-06-26 14.00.35

Nut-Free Cranberry Oat Blissballs

  • Servings: 15
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oat flour (oats ground into flour)
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup vanilla protein powder (I use sweet lupins)
  • 1 large, ripe banana
  • 2 Tbs. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 Tbs. sunflowerseed butter
  • 2 Tbs. maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)
  • 1/4 cup chopped chocolate / chocolate chips (I used 75%)
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried cranberries

Note: The vanilla protein powder is completely optional, leave out if you don’t have it.

Procedure:

1. Place the oat flour, sunflower seeds, vanilla protein and cocoa in a food processor and pulse a few times until mixed.

2. Add the banana and sunflowerseed butter, as well as the maple syrup. Pulse until a thick, wet dough forms.

3. Mix this dough with the oats and chopped chocolate (not in your processor!), using your hands to form balls once combined.

4. Roll the balls in chopped dried cranberries for a beautiful “outer” coating that also adds a nice tart sweetness.

5. Place in the freezer for 5-10 minutes before serving to allow the balls to firm up.

Keep refrigerated!

I made quite large balls, feel free to make smaller ones or even make bars out of these! The cranberries can also be subbed out for shredded coconut, more cocoa powder, or even some powdered sugar, if you’re going for a less healthy version.

2015-06-26 14.01.26

These are really not so sweet, which is what I wanted – I don’t need dessert, I still have 3/4 of a tragic vegan cherry cheesecake in my freezer, that tastes delicious but wouldn’t firm up, hence it’s now icecream cake. I wanted snack balls worthy of subbing out a breakfast or a healthy snack for inbetween, and I find that these really do the trick. To make them sweeter, go ahead and add more maple syrup!!

2015-06-23 23.13.57

How do you guys get through weird work schedules? I know for me it’s not a permanent issue, but I still do wonder, I never fully grasped the luxury I had considering my future working hours as a teacher…

2015-06-26 14.01.39

2 thoughts on “Nut-Free Cranberry Oat Blissballs

Leave a Reply

