Re-Energize Week Day 3: Get Movin’

Good morning everyone, how have the past days of your personal re-energize week gone? Are you simply following along by reading these posts, or have you tried out any of my ideas of the past two posts?

Yesterday, staying true to my post, I got up early and made myself a delicious peanutbutter dessert shake for breakfast, enjoyed with a crispy, tart green apple, and a soy latté. Strangely enough, I was craving coffee, which I usually only indulge in for lunch, if at all. But, you know, I feel like Re-Energize Week is mostly about listening to your own body, so I had coffee and “dessert”. For breakfast.

Oh, and as we had around 30°C yesterday, hydrating wasn’t hard. I easily stayed true to Day 1’s motto of hydrating, and got so much done yesterday as I got up so early that I was amazed come evening that I still wasn’t wiped out. I cleaned my entire kitchen, organized the kitchen cabinet, and then went off to clean all the windows in our apartment…and then I tutored my kiddos, cooked dinner for my boyfriend, and shot a recipe in between all that. Yes, I’m a show-off today. Yes, all this can be accomplished if you RISE AND SHINE as Day 2 suggested.

Which brings me to today: Day 3 of Re-energizing is about getting movin’ again for me. I have focussed on regaining my strength and calm the past two days, and today I wanna get back to working out. I love myself some yoga, specifically Yoga With Adriene, which I have been doing even while working these past two weeks and days, but I feel an itch to start running and swimming again.

The only problem is that I tend to overdo it, jumping in too fast for my body and especially mind to handle, so I’m gonna see if my knee pains have subsided fully before going for a run. Perhaps going swimming in this heat is the better option, anyways.

If you’re not into moving a lot, I suggest you don’t force yourself to do something you can never imagine yourself doing. With myself, I like changing up the workouts I do, as I easily get bored. At the moment, I am adoring my yoga, but before that, I had a long run of barre3-loving, and zumba before that. It’s truly all about mixing and continuing to look for that one thing you actually enjoy doing…

Which is easier said than done. Today, on Day 3 of Re-Energize Week, why not simply decide to go for a nice evening stroll with a friend or child? Re-Energize by taking the speed out of your day, looking for something that’ll get you moving, a bike ride, some skating, a dance lesson/session…and feel the surge of energy after doing something you actually like doing. Without pressure, without force, simply doing it FOR YOURSELF.

I’m not very good at that.

But I’ll focus on getting movin’ for myself today, not for a slimmer figure, fitter appearance or any other reason, but connecting to myself, and, as Adriene would so, to “Find what feels good”.

And, for lunch, if you’ve got nothing planned, I suggest you make these Green Popeye Crêpes:

2015-06-30 13.19.04

Looks a little crazy, huh? These babies are my go to for adding more greens to my diet. My boyfriend has me labelled as a spinach monster, but I am loving that leafy green so much lately that I just can’t get enough, I’m adding it to everything.

2015-06-30 13.24.04

The awesome thing about these is that you cannot taste the spinach whatsoever…if you wanted to make them as breakfast and not fill them with a savory filling, you could just as well do so without adjusting the recipe. They look freaky, will give you the same energy boost Popeye gets from spinach, but they taste like simple crêpes, just as these Paperthin Crêpes would.

Green Popeye Crêpes

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup soy-rice milk (or other plantbased milk)
  • 2 eggs (or 2 flax eggs for vegan version)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 1/2 tsp. coconut oil, for the pan

Procedure:

1. In a large bowl, put all the ingredients and then, using a handmixer, purrée until smooth.

2. Heat a pan wth 1/2 tsp. of coconut oil, then place 1/2 a cup of “dough” (it will be quite runny) in the pan.

3. After the top of the crêpe is bubbly and almost firm, flip for about 30 more seconds. Then take out of the pan and repeat with the rest of the dough.

2015-06-30 13.11.312015-06-30 13.11.09

2015-06-30 13.11.49

Trust me, these pancakes will not only make your eyes pretty damn happy, they’ll also motivate you to get outside and movin’ in the green! They pack so much fiber and are therefore nicely filling, and you don’t need to cram in that extra salad to get your greens in today.

2015-06-30 13.23.01

I have had these with a side of fresh cucumber and tomatoes, and, of course, my obligatory soy latte for lunch.

Get your energy levels up by hydrating, rising early, taking care of yourself with lots of green food, and taking a lovely walk today! Let me know how it goes. 😉

Leave a Reply

