Grapefruit Chia Smoothie And The Sparkle Of A New Week

I woke up at 7 am this morning, jumped out of bed and went for a nice run. It was already very warm outside, around 20°C, I think, so I’m glad I got up when I did. Working out any later than that is simply unhealthy these days, Germany is caught in some sort of desert heat stream, and all one can do in the middle of the day is escape to dive into the Main river.

Why is it that on Mondays, I am usually very motivated to get moving early in the morning?

I think it has something to do with the “New Years”-Effect the beginning of a new week has. Don’t you know what I’m talking about? That sparkle of excitement you feel when you feel like you have the chance to “do things differently” starting now. On New Year’s Day, that feeling is extremely strong. On Mondays, for me, it is not quite as strong, but certainly a reality.

It is a little strange to think that a new week could somehow bring about better behaviors, better moods, better decision making than the one before. But, maybe we need an official starting point for breaking those habits that pull us down, so, if starting on a Monday helps, so be it.

Which begs the question: Which habits am I trying to break this week?

Well, first of all, I really need to get moving again. The heat has really been giving me great excuses not to get out of the apartment, and I think after really working my body waiting on tables those two weeks before, I kind of needed the break. But, starting today, I really need to get back to my normal routine, as I simply don’t really feel so great about myself if I don’t move. I’m loving yoga these days, and am aiming to master crow, boat, and headstand pose…but, in order to do those properly, I need to get practicing regularly!

Secondly, I need to get my social calender back on track. Stange enough as it may seem, I still haven’t fully crept out of the hermit’s hole I dug myself while studying; but hanging with my friends and family is the only thing keeping me from feeling lonely in the evenings (after spending a whole day alone in my apartment). It is therefore perfect that I am visiting my best friend in Leipzig this week!

Thirdly, as I have been having a few flares of allergy related reactions, I want to focus on avoiding my trigger foods this week, namely wheat and dairy. Those two make my stomach and skin suffer, and, while I haven’t completely overindulged lately, I feel like it would do me good to truly avoid them again for at least a week. Give my body a break, and then, perhaps, it’ll be okay in small doses again. Sooo, I’ll only be having these Sweet Potato Brownies (Recipe by deliciouslyella) this week:

2015-07-05 15.02.22

What are your goals for this new week? Do you set goals at the beginning of the week?

One lovely goal would be to make yourself a smoothie every day (if you don’t already). When it’s this warm outside, it’s really the only thing to do: nourish your body with smoothies, as they won’t weigh you down, fill you up and hydrate you at the same time!

After my run this morning, I made myself this Grapefruit Chia Smoothie to fill up my carb and protein storages. It is creamy, lightly citric and sweet, and reminds me a little of a buttermilk-shake (despite it being completely dairyfree).

2015-07-06 08.44.22

I finally got myself a v.o.s.s. bottle, it’s perfect for saving left-over smoothies!

Grapefruit Chia Smoothie

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pink grapefruit
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1 Tbs. blueberries
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 Tbs. chia
  • 1 Tbs. oats
  • 1/2 cup soy yogurt
  • 1 cup water
  • 10-12 icecubes

Procedure:

1. Add all the ingredients in a blender, and blend until well combined.

Note: You may need to blend it twice to really smooth out the chia seeds.

This recipe makes quite a lot of smoothie, so I saved some for this afternoon; perhaps my boyfriend will like it when he comes home from work.

2015-07-06 08.32.052015-07-06 08.35.512015-07-06 08.42.24

The soy yogurt makes this smoothie creamy, but also adds quite a bit of protein (along with the chia seeds). I really loved that this smoothie tasted like buttermilk, especially due to the tangy taste of the grapefruit.

2015-07-06 08.44.42

The oats add extra fiber, and the banana, if superripe, will add enough sweetness to this smoothie that it’ll be like drinking liquid yogurt. 🙂 Add the raspberries and blueberries, and you’ve got yourself some antioxidants as well!

Anybody not feeling the sparkle of the new week yet?

Leave a Reply

