Baobab Apricot Smoothie Bowl

Anger. That’s what I am feeling right now. After waiting for 3 months, I finally got around to calling the institution responsible for sending me my exam results, in the hopes they would tell me that the strike of our post office has caused a delay in delivering the letter…only to find out that the letter hasn’t been sent because not all of my exams have been corrected. Some (dare I say lazy?!) professor is obviously unable to correct exams quick enough. I am now going to celebrate my “finished” studies with my parents and family tomorrow night without even knowing if I passed. Anger, Frustration, Helplessness – all these words don’t seem to cut it today. I’m completely fed up.

I  know it may seem silly to get so worked up over a letter, over exam results or the likes. But, if you’ve worked so hard to on accomplishing something, put all of your energy, nerves and brain into it, and just don’t receive good news (or any news, that is) afterwards, it’s completely unnerving. I really just wanna hold that letter in my hands and know that my hard work has paid off, that I actually AM done with studying, and that I’ve finished that part of my life for good. The anxiety of it all has truly become too much. I just want to be DONE!

On other news, I have a new recipe to share with you. So, cudos to you if you’ve made it this far by reading my rant. Off to more satisfying things…like this smoothie bowl I made yesterday morning!

2015-07-12 09.38.24

I was visiting a friend of mine in Leipzig last week, and I completely adore the city. Not only is it a perfect mix of “big city feeling” and nature, it also has so much more to offer restaurant and shop-wise than Würzburg, where I studied. I ended up buying WAY TOO MUCH at a health store, including a jar of baobab powder.

Superfoods have really started being a great hit here in Germany, and I have to admit I really haven’t gotten into the whole thing until recently. I am not sure what to “believe” yet, I am more about liking the taste of a lot of them, and I really enjoy testing different so-called “superfoods”. Goji berries, for example, are an absolute favorite of mine, simply because I like the way they taste! Chia seeds, hemp protein and sweet lupins vanilla protein are also great, as they are a wonderful “filling” agent in smoothies, and make a smoothie for breakfast so much more satisfying. I don’t buy into them perfecting my diet, I simply enjoy using them.

Baobab powder and Barley Grass Powder are the two new additions to my “superfood” collection, and, while I would never tell anyone they need them, I find it fun to add a teaspoon here and there. I am just getting used to the taste of barley grass, so I’m only adding half a teaspoon to my green smoothies, but the baobab has really got me smitten. It’s simply yummy in taste, and that’s also the only reason I added it to this apricot smoothie bowl. If you don’t have it, don’t worry, you absolutely DO NOT NEED TO BUY IT! Just leave it out, or add 1/4 of a grapefruit to achieve a similar taste.

2015-07-12 09.41.17

I only recently started getting into smoothie bowls. Most of the time, I enjoy drinking smoothies, with a green apple on the side at most; but, spending some time with my bestie meant we had loads of time for breakfast and chatting away, so slurping up a smoothie real quick didn’t seem very relaxed. I therefore have been loving smoothie bowls lately, hence this wonderful recipe. I have posted a recipe for and Ice Cream Smoothie Bowl before, however that specific recipe is more similar to a nicecream bowl than anything else.

This smoothie bowl can be made as a smoothie and gulped down all the same…but I am loving going crazy with my toppings, hence the bowl and not a tall jar.

Baobab Apricot Smoothie Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 ripe apricots, frozen
  • 1/2 cup cashew milk (or other plant-based milk)
  • 2 tsp. baobab powder (optional; swith out for 1/4 grapefruit)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 fresh orange
  • 1 Tbs. oats
  • up to 1/2 cup of water (start with less until you have desired texture)

Topping options: chia seeds, dried goji berries, fresh strawberries, homemade granola

Procedure:

1. Blend all the ingredients excluding the water together, then add as much water as you like until you’ve reached your desired texture.

Note: If you are making this a smoothie, add 1/2 cup of water right away.

2015-07-12 09.30.10 2015-07-12 09.31.35

2015-07-12 09.36.37

Feel free to switch it up with your toppings! I imagine dried cranberries will also be splendid, as would shredded coconut, chopped and toasted cashews, or some coconut butter drizzled on top! For granola options, see the following recipes:

Super Seedy Granola (Nut-Free)

Tropical Coconut Granola (Gluten-Free)

Cranberry Almond Granola (Low-Fat)

2015-07-12 09.42.23

Make sure your apricots are very ripe before you freeze them – otherwise this may not be sweet or creamy enough! 2015-07-12 09.42.27

Alright, my friends, I’ll let you get to it. For another smoothie bowl option, see how I adapted my Peanutbutter-Dessert-Shake to fit my needs this morning…making a beautiful green smoothie bowl!

Leave a Reply

