Vegetarian Roasted Tomato Tarte

I had planned on writing this blog post before lunch, but I did a barre3 workout right before (my first in a month at least), and was so crazy hungry afterwards that I couldn’t wait. I am giving barre3 another try now that I am feeling a little more relaxed and, more importantly, am able to combine it with running. I’m all about doing a million different types of “sports” at the moment. If tehre were a zumba course around, or pilates, I’d probably go there, too. For now, though, I’ll just stick to yoga, barre3 and running. 🙂

I didn’t have much planned for today, I have only one student coming over for tutoring later, and then, tonight, my family and I are going out to dinner to celebrate my finished studies. It feels a little hypocritical considering that I haven’t gotten my exam results yet (which really REALLY tore me down yesterday), but I am trying my best to stay positive and not let influence my mood the way it did yesterday.

But, as I had a lot of time on my hands, I thought I’d give my new quiche dish a try (you gotta love IKEA), and test something I’ve never done before: roasting tomatoes!

I’ve always shyed away from roasting tomatoes, especially if removing the tomato skin is involved. But, today, I tried and mastered it, and I foresee a lot of tomato roasting in my future, especially as tomato season is only just beginning! Roasting tomatoes really brings out their flavor, which is absolutely lovely in this tarte I made today. I used an actual cookbook for inspiration today – I rarely do that anymore, hehe.

This recipe calls for only a few ingredients. The tarte is filled with roasted tomatoes, basil and goat’s cheese, as well as a good drizzle of olive oil..and that’s it! Simply make your crust, and you’re done. Really, the only time intensive part is skinning and roasting the tomatoes, and allowing the dough to rise. But, if you’re short on time, simply prepare the whole tarte on a Sunday afternoon and serve it all done and ready on Tuesday night!

2015-07-14 12.49.00

Vegetarian Roasted Tomato Tarte

  • Servings: 6 slices
  • Time: 20 min. + 50 min.
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 9 large tomatoes
  • 6 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 100g goat’s cheese, grated
  • 5-6 brazil nuts, chopped
  • 1 bunch basil leaves, washed
  • 2 tsp. dried italian herb mix
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp. olive oil for your quiche form

for the crust:

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 12g fresh yeast (1/4 of a cube)
  • 1 1/4 cup wholespelt flour (150g)
  • 1/2 cup water (100ml)
  • a drizzle of salt

Procedure:

1. Begin by cutting a cross into your tomatoes, removing the top green part, and then pouring boiling hot water on top. This will allow you to remove the skin of the tomato.

Note: I poured boiling water over the tomatoes twice, as the first time the skin was not loose enough!

2. Preheat the oven to 150°C (300°F). Halve the skinned tomatoes, remove the seeds, and place facing down on a baking tin coated in 2 Tbs. of olive oil.

3. Sprinkle the halved tomatoes with the brown sugar, and place in the oven for 30 minutes.

4. Prepare the dough for your crust by first mixing the yeast, water, and olive oil, and then kneading in the salt and wholespelt flour. Cover and allow to rise for 20 minutes.

5. Coat the quiche form with olive oil to prevent the dough from sticking, and grate your cheese while you wait for the dough to rise.

6. After 20 minutes, roll out your dough and place it in the quiche form. Allow to rise for another 20 minutes, uncovered. Using a fork, make small holes in the bottom of the dough.

7. Once the dough has risen the second time, spread out 1/3 of the goat’s cheese at the bottom, as well as a 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1 tsp. dried italian herbs and a bit of ground pepper. Sprinkle with 2 Tbs. of olive oil.

8. Preheat your oven to 225°C (440°F). Layer the basil leaves on top of the grated cheese, then add the roasted tomatoes, and, on top, add the rest of the cheese, herbs and salt/pepper.

9. Chop your brazil nuts and sprinkle them on top. They will add a fun crunch!

10. Bake for 15 minutes, then take out of the oven and allow to cool for 5 minutes before slicing.

So, first, deal with the roasting of the tomatoes:

2015-07-14 09.43.16 2015-07-14 10.01.02

2015-07-14 10.06.49 2015-07-14 10.07.26

While they roast, prepare your dough:

2015-07-14 10.40.42

While you wait for the dough to rise the second time, chop the nuts, grate the cheese, and wash the basil leaves, so you can get to sprinkling and layering:

2015-07-14 11.00.222015-07-14 11.00.43 2015-07-14 11.03.06 2015-07-14 11.04.02

2015-07-14 11.09.03

Once you’re done with layering, place in the oven for 15 minutes:

2015-07-14 11.40.16

Et voilá, you’re done! Like I said, if you past the roasting, it’s really quick and easy!

2015-07-14 12.49.11

Tastes perfect warm or cold, so this truly can be prepared ahead of time! If you aren’t troubled by cow’s milk, feel free to switch up the goat’s cheese for other types, however I feel like the intense goat’s cheese really compliments the lightly sweet and fragrant tomatoes in this case. 2015-07-14 12.49.56

Garnish with a little fresh basil, and serve while your apartment/house smells heavenly tomato-ey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

