Vegan Low Carb Banana Bread Cookies

The entire apartment smells like banana bread. It’s a beautiful thing, truly! It smells so heavenly I can’t really think of any smell I like more at the moment…My sister would probably go crazy (she hates bananas), but the only thing I am enjoying more than this smell is the taste of these cookies.

Yup, I said it. Not Banana Bread. COOKIES!

To celebrate the long-awaited arrival of the letter containing my exam results, I wanted to whip up a batch of chickpea blondies yesterday. However, that recipe completely flat-lined, leaving me with a gooey, sticky, lumpy chickpea doughy disappointment – that tasted alright, but just didn’t even deserve to be called anything. It left me so depressed I couldn’t get around to trying again or making anything else yesterday.

Today, that’s a whole different story. Not only was I highly motivated to try something new, the recipe I tested has turned out EXACTLY the way I hoped it would. Rarely happens, but it did today! I absolutely love how chewy these cookies are, nicely crunchy on the edges and still moist and gooey in the middle.

And, did I mention these are a) glutenfree, b) sugarfree, c) fatfree, and d) vegan?

Come again? How is that even possible? I don’t know, to be honest. It’s about as possible as my passing all of my exams and getting a grade point average I would never have thought realistic. Yes, it IS possible.

2015-07-18 14.07.33

Vegan Low Carb Banana Bread Cookies

  • Servings: 15
  • Time: 30 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup ground sunflowerseeds
  • 1/4 cup goji berries (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground vanilla

Note: Feel free to switch up the goji berries for some cacao nibs, cranberries, raisins, or simply leave them out!

Procedure:

1. Preheat the oven to 175°C (350°F)Grind the sunflower seeds in a food processor until they are broken down into a crumbly flour.

2. Mash the banana, and mix with the rest of the ingredients to form a very wet dough.

3. Roll about 1 Tbs. of dough into a ball at a time, and place on a baking sheet on a baking tin.

4. Flatten the dough with your fingers (it won’t spread while baking).

5. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the edges are browning.

6. Allow to cool for 5 minutes, then place on a plate or cooling rack.

Note: You really need to let these cool down before moving them, otherwise they’ll break apart!

These are so simple to make, and so healthy. If you like the taste of the “dough”, go ahead and just have the bowl, it’s actually good for you! The riper your banana is, the sweeter these cookies will be, so I really don’t recommend using non-ripe bananas in this case.

2015-07-18 13.35.50

If you’re not intolerant to nuts, you could switch the sunflower seeds for some ground walnuts or almonds – I quite liked the taste and crunch of sunflower seeds in this recipe, though.

2015-07-18 13.41.32 2015-07-18 14.01.15

To flatten the dough balls, I used my fingers – but you could also use a fork for a “criss-cross” on top.

2015-07-18 14.07.19

These are so delicious that I have had to devour 3 just as I was writing this post – and they’ll keep you nice and satisfied for quite a while as well, because of the chia seeds!

2015-07-18 14.07.50

I think I’ll be having these for breakfast tomorrow, either crumbled on a smoothie or dipped in some macadamia milk I’ve been wanting to try! YUMYUMYUM!

Leave a Reply

