Super Simple Sundried Tomato Dip

This Sunday morning, my boyfriend and I went for a lovely picnic in the vineyards, as those of you following me on Instagram will probably have noticed already. His aunt wanted to share some of her own poetry, and had a few other friends who had some things to recite as well, so they made a little event out of it, invited family and friends, and we spent a few hours in the midst of nature, listening to poetry. It may sound strange or even a little boring to you, but I have rarely had such a peaceful morning!

Of course, I also loved preparing all the food for our picnic – eventhough I had to defend it against the zillion wasps preying on innocent humans these days. I found the technique of luring them into my emptied smoothie jar and then shutting said jar to be the most effective, eventhough it felt a little wrong.

2015-07-19 11.15.42

We took quite a large bag of goodness with us to picnic, containing the following lovely things:

1. Tremendous Tomato Foccacia

2. Millet-Parsley Salad

3. Blueberry-Banana Smoothie (1 cup blueberries, 1 banana, 1 cup soymilk, 1 cup water)

4. Fresh Veggie Sticks with a sundried tomato dip

This dip is something I spontaneously whipped up this morning, and I still can’t believe how easy it was. Granted, anything with sundried tomatoes is simple to make, as they pack so much flavor that you barely need anything else to get whatever you’re making to taste good.

2015-07-19 09.58.59

This tomato dip works well as a bread spread as well, and will keep for up to 3 days – if it lasts that long! We enjoyed it with some bell pepper, cucumber and carrots, but I’m sure celery sticks or tortilla chips will also be great! Or mushrooms…

Super Simple Sundried Tomato Dip

  • Servings: 1 cup
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 of one feta pack
  • 1/3 cup packed with sundried tomatoes (in oil)
  • 1 green onion
  • 1 red chili (optional)
  • 1/3 cup water

Procedure:

1. Add all of the ingredients to a food processor, excepting the water. Blend until a thick, slightly crumbly mixture is formed.

2. Add up to 1/3 cup of water until your desired texture and creaminess. (I found 1/3 cup to be perfect for a dip. As a bread spread, I would probably only add 1/6 cup.)

2015-07-19 09.46.02 2015-07-19 09.50.01

2015-07-19 09.53.15 2015-07-19 09.56.14

If you like garlic, feel free to add 1 garlic clove to the mix! I made this earlier this week while still testing it, and I put too much garlic in, so I really didn’t fee like anything garlicky today.

2015-07-19 09.59.14

If you’re serving this for a nice dinner, sprinkle some freshly ground pepper on top, and save some of the green onion to chop and drape on top! (Eventhough I took this to a picnic, I still wanted to make it look fancy…)

2015-07-19 11.15.52

When was the last time you had a picnic? As I was sitting there this morning, I realized I absolutely LOVE picinics. I think there should be much more time to just go out and eat in nature, without any certain time frame to stress you out!

2015-07-19 10.04.34

By the way, I just wanted to take a moment to say hello to all my new followers – it’s really too bad it isn’t possible to meet in person, but I am psyched you guys are here, and I am so happy you, and the “oldies” who have been following my blog for a longer time, are taking an interest in my recipes and stories. If you want, let me know what you did today, so we can get to know each other better!

Leave a comment