Honey Walnut Waffles

I have had one productive Monday, people. And it has made me so happy to have things to do, and accomplishing them without feeling stressed in between! I know it may sound like I am mocking you – but I am just really happy to have already done so much today. Isn’t it great when your week starts of optimistically? I wish I could retain this feeling and save it for those days I don’t really manage a positive outlook on life. If you’re not feeling it today, let me know…I’ll send some of my happy to you, okay?

Perhaps I’ve had such a good day because I tried something this morning that I have had in the back of my mind for a while, but just haven’t gotten around to. And no, I’m not talking about the waffles I made – those were, honestly, just a spur-of-the-moment kind of thing. I made my first fresh juice this morning!! I don’t have a juicer, which has kept me from juicing my heart out this summer, but I have recently bought a nutmilkbag, with which I have been wanting to try making juice.

…and, you know what, it works! I am beyong excited, and wish I could have just drunk juice the entire day. Which I totally would’ve done, but, you know, I was being so productive I didn’t have the time (okay, that time I was mocking. :)) Instead of using a juicer, I blended a carrot, an apple and a handful of spinach with some icecubes and water, and then filled it through my nutmilk bag, resulting in a delicious juice that had me amazed at its fresh taste. I really can’t wait to make some more tomorrow morning.

2015-07-20 09.40.54

Oh yes, and these waffles I made – they turned out just as I wanted them to! Adapted from my Lower Carb Macadamia Waffles, they are a little sweeter and basically scream to be paired with some goat’s cream cheese or greek yogurt, if you’re not intolerant (or vegan). Despite my waffle iron being REALLY REALLY bad, I mean beyond fixing the stickiness-with-oil bad, I managed to make these this morning.

2015-07-20 09.38.22

This makes a 3-waffle-batch, which isn’t a lot, but perfect if you’re only making them for yourself. I had 1 1/2 this morning, alongside my awesome refreshing juice, and froze the left-overs to be popped in the toaster on another day. These waffles are quite filling too, and pack lots of yummy dense nutrients from the walnuts, apple, and honey!

Honey Walnut Waffles

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup walnuts ground into a flour
  • 1/2 cup spelt flour (or oat flour for gluten-free version)
  • 1/2 cup soy-rice milk (or other plant milk)
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 grated apple
  • 1 Tbs. honey
  • coconut oil for coating the waffle iron, if yours is as bad as mine
  • 2 eggs

Procedure:

1. Start heating your waffle iron.

2. Grind the walnuts into a fine flour (and oats, too, if you’re using oat flour) in a food processor, then mix all the ingredients in a bowl.

3. Whisk until smooth, then place 1/2 cup of dough in the waffle iron at a time.

4. Place on cooling rack once they are done, and serve with some greek yogurt, goat’s cream cheese, or just plain!

2015-07-20 09.36.39

These can easily be made glutenfree, if you use gluten-free oat flour! They’re almost vegan, excepting the eggs, so if you want to try making these using flax eggs, go ahead and let me know how it goes!

2015-07-20 09.37.01

Leave a Reply

