Homemade Grapefruit Lemonade

It is so humid outside that, eventhough it’s already 10.40 pm, I am feeling icky and sweaty at my desk. I got so excited when it rained earlier, as there was even some lightning and thunder, but apparently, all that did was add humidity to the air. Not too awesome, but, you know, all the more reason to make this homemade lemonade! (That was a quick transition, I know. Forgive me, it’s 10.40 pm!)

My sister came over for sister fun night today (and those of you who have been following my blog for a while will know that this means loads of yummy food, girl talk and quite a bit of random giggling!), and I wanted to make something special for us to have to drink. As it’s a school night, and we’re both not huge on alcohol, I wanted to make something both refreshing, tasty, citric, and sweet – without the bad sugar, of course!

I had played around with this recipe the entire weekend, and finally got it to work perfectly. Those of you who read the title and thought: “Grapefruit? Doesn’t that taste really bitter?!” – Don’t worry, this grapefruit lemonade has nothing but the yumminess of the grapefruit, and none of the bitter parts. Mostly, that’s because you have to juice the grapefruit, leaving none of the white “skin” parts, which are what essentially make the grapefruit have its signature “bitter” taste.

Sidenote: If you really can’t get your head around GRAPEFRUIT, go ahead and make this using orange instead. Works just as well, I personally prefer the grapefruit version, though. I find it much more refreshing and perhaps a little more innovative than the orange version (I have tested both, even one with lemon juice! That was a little tart, though.)

2015-07-22 18.18.111

I have always had a bit of an issue with bought lemonade – any soda, actually. It’s not only about the sugar, I usually don’t feel like it quenches my thirst because of the taste. Oh, and whenever I have coke, I feel like the zits are just waiting underneath my skin, celebrating the newly found chemicals to feed on. So, the only case I’ll have coke is in a Cuba Libre (and that happens very rarely, I’m more into Whiskey Sour these days :)).

2015-07-22 18.20.09

This grapefruit lemonde, however, is lightly sweet, yet extremely flavorful, and still hydrating in both taste- and actual sense. There are 8 cups of water in total, mixed with 2 cups of grapefruit juice, agave syrup, lemons and lime – making a total of 10 cups (= approx. 2.5L)! Yes, this is a big recipe, but you’ll also be drinking a lot of it once you make it, so it’s perfect to make a big amount!

Homemade Grapefruit Lemonade

  • Servings: 10 cups / 2.5L
  • Time: 5 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 grapefruits, juiced (= 2 cups)
  • 4 tsp. agave syrup (or more, to taste)
  • 8 cups sparkling water
  • 1 lemon, sliced
  • 1 lime, sliced
  • 1 icecube tray (or more)

Procedure:

1. Juice the grapefruit, and mix it with the agave syrup in a big bowl or pitcher.

2. Add the water, lemon, lime, and icecubes, and stir with a spoon.

3. Serve in fancy glasses and pretend it’s an amazing cocktail! (Or, you know, mix with vodka, tequila or gin. :))

2015-07-22 18.18.36

The pretty pink color of this lemonade will seriously stun anyone you give this to…I myself am still amazed every time I make it, and it really is perfect for summer temperatures, as you literally WON’T STOP DRINKING UNTIL IT’S ALL GONE! My sister drank 2.5L for dinner alone. That’s 1.75L per person – for dinner! Sound crazy? It’s just that good.

2015-07-22 18.20.20

Okay, I’m off to bed today. I will post the rest of the goodness we had for dinner the following days…I got you a little teaser, though:

2015-07-22 18.31.18

I am so in love with my new napkins – IKEA for the win! The contents of my plate were pretty awesome, too. So awesome my sister asked me after the first bite if she could have my half of the sweet potato as well.

“No”, I said.

“NO!!!”

Leave a Reply

