Yellow Zoodles With Vegan Tomato Pesto

Boy, am I having a slow start today. I haven’t really been sleeping very well – for whatever reason, I have woken up around 4 or 5 am the past two days, and not been able to fall asleep again properly. My boyfriend gets up at 6, which obviously wakes me even if he makes sure not to disturb me, and at 8 am the painters working on the walls on our house start (and I wouldn’t need to sleep past 8 if I were able to get some proper sleep before). Needless to say, it hasn’t been the best morning.

In fact, my computer just shut down in the middle of my writing this post (luckily I had saved the first paragraph already), which is so unbelievably typical for a day like this. I think I will succumb to ironing in front of the tv after this, and heading straight for naptime after that. I am so glad that I don’t have any obligations today!

Remembering last night and the company I had for dinner (my sissy) makes everything a bit better, though. For those of you who have taken a look at my previous post, featuring my new favorite drink Homemade Grapefruit Lemonade, you’ll have gotten a peek at our dinner last night!

2015-07-22 18.31.31

I am all about having a variety of different yumminess on my plate these days – I think it’s because I just can’t decide on just one thing I want to have for dinner, so I end having 3 or 4 different dishes going on simultaneously. Neither my boyfriend nor my sister have complained so far, so it must be working for them, too. 🙂 I guess it has something to do with the heat as well – when it’s so warm out, I don’t want to have a big dish, I want to “snack”, which is done easiest by having a variety of “snacks”.

2015-07-22 18.31.36

This post is all about the yellow zoodles on this plate (hence the two slightly wobbly pictures of my sister serving herself). First of all, can I get a Hallelujah for yellow zucchini? How awesome and “real” do those spaghetti look?! Oh, and the pesto they’re dressed in is just as awesome. Think toasted pinenuts, dried tomatoes, basil…and no salt whatsoever! I know many HCLF vegans in particular are watching their salt intake, so this is the perfect pesto for you!

2015-07-22 16.45.04

The pink color of my cup doesn’t really go with the beautiful red color of the pesto, but you know, I went with it. The taste made up for everything – and, hey, my zucchini is YELLOW, so why are you focussing on the pesto, anyways??

2015-07-22 18.28.56

As with my other Raw Zoodle recipe, I have fallen in love with this bowl. Not only does it look beautiful, it was so unbelievably scrumptious that my sister polished off 2/3 before I could manage to get my fair (?!) share of it. The fact that this is vegan, low-carb. salt-free, delicious and packs loads of veggie goodness may even make this my new favorite “pasta” dish!

Yellow Zoodles WIth Vegan Tomato Pesto

  • Servings: 1 as main, 2-3 as a side
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 large yellow zucchini
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil
  • 1/2 garlic clove
  • 1 Tbs. oil (from the sundried tomatoes)
  • 1 Tbs. tomato purrée
  • 4 dried tomatoes in oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 green onion, chopped (optional)
  • a handful of cherry tomatoes (optional)

Yield = 1/2 cup pesto

Procedure:

1. Make zoodles using a spiralizer.

2. Place all the other ingredients, excepting the green onion and cherry tomatoes, in a food processor and blend until smooth, adding more water if desired.

3. MIx the zoodles and the pesto, then sprinkle the chopped green onion and cherry tomatoes on top, if you like.

2015-07-22 16.18.02 2015-07-22 16.19.17

2015-07-22 18.28.53

It’s a easy as 3 steps, looks pretty, tastes awesome. What more can you want in a (side) dish? I’m off to go ironing now, perhaps that’ll lift my mood (although I somehow doubt it…). What are you up to today? Besides running to the store to buy the ingredients for this yumminess, of course? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Yellow Zoodles With Vegan Tomato Pesto

Leave a Reply

