Oven Baked Sweet Potato Halves With Cinnamon

The first time I brought home sweet potatoes, and ecstatically showed them to my boyfriend, his comment was: “Oh, my grandpa used to feed those to the pigs!” Uhm, well, I guess that’s what they do here in Germany. Sweet potatoes are not generally eaten by humans, they’re animal food. Those are some lucky animals, eh?!

Which is also why I was so ecstatic when I found them at a store for the first time. It seems to me that they are now being sold more and more often – apparently the sweet potato has found its way into the hearts of people around here, finally – and therefore, I have been on a sweet potato craze ever since. Back in Tanzania, I honestly never really felt that way about them, but, I also didn’t really like “real” potatoes back then, so I guess my taste buds have changed (for the better). I now absolutely love potatoes, and by that I don’t mean fries. I love them boiled, baked, sautéed. in a salad, or as mashed potatoes (though the latter is my least favorite, I have to admit).

Sweet potatoes I especially love oven baked. I have made Cinnamon Sweet Potato Wedges before, and they were quite awesome, but I have recently found a new way of preparing them (well, it isn’t new in the grand scheme of things, but for me, it is): Cutting them in half and simply baking them. So easy, but so good!

2015-07-22 18.28.30

I mean, just look at those wonderful potato halves. Don’t you feel the need to dig in immediately? They’re so nice and toasted on the top, and the inside is so creamy you can eat it with a spoon. I sprinkled cinnamon, coarse sea salt and paprika on top to really bring out the flavors…and, what can I say, it turned out majestically. There’s really no other adjective to use.

I quote my sister: “This is the best dinner I have eaten in forever!”

As you can see, I served it with my Yellow Zoodles dressed in homemade vegan tomato pesto, and a greek salad! So, so yummy. And, what I find so incredible, it is super simple! These take 35-40 minutes in the oven, so in the meantime, you can prepare a side salad, or go hang up your laundry, or whatever. There’s nearly no clean up afterwards, and yet this is such a satiating, delicious and pretty “dish” that will impress any of your guests (especially the Germans, ’cause, you know, they feed sweet potatoes to the pigs! :)).

Oven Baked Sweet Potato Halves With Cinnamon

  • Servings: 2 halves
  • Time: 35-40 min.
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato (large)
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. coarse seasalt
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 Tbs. water

Procedure:

1. Preheat your oven to 200° C (390°F).

2. Wash the sweet potato, then cut in half. Using a fork, “puncture” each half several times and spread around the olive oil on top of each half (1/2 tsp. each).

3. Sprinkle the salt, paprika, and cinnamon evenly on the two halves, then pop in the oven for 20 minutes.

4. Take out after 20 minutes, and sprinkle the water on top of the two halves. Pop back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes.

5. Serve immediately, eating the “flesh” out of the crinkled potato skin.

2015-07-22 16.29.40 2015-07-22 17.35.32

2015-07-22 17.36.19 2015-07-22 17.41.28

I have tried these with a rosemary-garlic “marinade”, but honestly, I preferred this seasoning a lot. The cinnamon and paprika really compliment the overall sweet flavor, and the salt (which may look like it’s a lot, but it’s perfect, trust me) really adds a savory note.

2015-07-22 18.03.51

Seriously, this is so easy to make, and feels like such a comfort food, eventhough it’s completely healthy! Make yourself a quick dip, for example my sundried tomato dip, to go along with it, or mash up some avocado with lemon juice and add it on top.

This concludes the dishes I made for sister fun night two days ago – so, if you want to impress somebody with a totally healthy yet yummy and easy to prepare “menu”, go ahead and make these sweet potato halves, add some zoodles on the side, and a side salad (not the Greek one if vegan, of course), make homemade grapefruit lemonade, and let the food speak for itself:

2015-07-22 18.31.18

Leave a Reply

