Dairyfree Vanilla Protein Yogurt

Dear friends, I’ve got a new breakfast dish for you. Not just any breakfast dish – one that anybody who’s either vegan or intolerant to dairy will have been missing out on: Some delicious, creamy, thick, “full fat” yogurt. I get so jealous when I read health blogs featuring all of their greek yogurt recipes, frozen yogurt toppings, etc. and I just couldn’t take it anymore. Enter my creativity, a few catastrophical tries at making this bananafree, and your outcome is a dairyfree “frozen yogurt” version, to be enjoyed for breakfast, or as an afternoon snack. Or even desset, ’cause, you know, who really cares WHEN you have it.

Only recently have I gotten back into smoothie bowls, and my latest Apricot Baobab Smoothie Bowl is still one of my go-to summer breakfasts. However, sometimes I am just craving something thicker, which ISN’T nicecream. Don’t get me wrong, I adore nicecream, and I’ve had my fair share of it this summer, but I really have a hard time missing my curd and yogurt (I am lactose intolerant and have a milk protein allergy). Of course, there’s soy yogurt, but the Alpro brand contains so much extra sugar, and the Provamel brand tastes very bland without any sugar.

I therefore tried to make something “better” out of the Provamel Soy Yogurt, which basically is just soybeans and water, and no additives or sugar. Clean ingredient list on point for sure! I first tried only adding my sweet lupins vanilla protein, and some agave, but it somehow didn’t combine well, and I felt it refuted the point of using the sugarless Provamel brand if I was going to add agave syrup to sweeten it up.

I therefore gave in and returned to the banana. And, to my great surprise, I found the banana taste is actually covered up very well by the vanilla protein, and I felt like I was eating plain frozen vanilla-flavored yogurt! It was thick, it was creamy, it was sweet, it was perfect.

2015-07-23 09.03.33

The great thing about yogurt is, just as with smoothie bowls, you can either enjoy it plain, or you can go nuts with the toppings! I went for some fresh strawberries and homemade granola – and, despite fearing I wouldn’t manage the whole bowl, it was so good and “light” that I ate it all!

2015-07-23 09.08.03

Dairyfree Vanilla Protein Yogurt

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 5-6 Tbs. soy yogurt (preferrably non-sweetened, as with the Provamel brand)
  • 1 1/2 frozen bananas
  • 1 tsp. vanilla sweet lupins protein
  • 2 Tbs. water

Note: If you don’t have any protein powder, you can simply add 1/2 tsp. ground vanilla to the yogurt-banana mix and leave out the water.

Procedure:

1. Place the frozen bananas in a food processor and allow to thaw for 2-3 minutes. Then add the soy yogurt and blend a few times.

2. Mix the vanilla sweet lupins protein with 2 Tbs. of water in a separate bowl until well-combined, then add to the yogurt-banana mix and blend until creamy!

3. Serve immediately with your favorite toppings.

2015-07-23 08.55.55 2015-07-23 09.00.15

2015-07-23 09.01.14 2015-07-23 09.03.29

I love that this is just as simple (or even simpler) than a smoothie bowl, but ends up much thicker and creamier, and packs a light sweetness plus protein. It really is just like eating a vanilla yogurt, which I absolutely adore!
2015-07-23 09.08.18

A friend of mine is visiting me the next few days, and I’m so looking forward to spending loads of time with her! Perhaps I’ll make her this beautiful yogurt bowl when she arrives…and fool her into thinking it’s “real” yogurt. I’m so sneaky, aren’t I.

Leave a Reply

