The August Salad: Breakfast Melon Salad

Hello my friends, I’m back! I know it’s been very quiet the past 2 weeks, but I was at a kid’s camp as a supervisor, and a million other things were happening on the side. I loved it all, though – I feel like being cut off from the internet for 10 days has hit a “reset” button in every way, and I haven’t felt as refreshed and ready for life in at least a year! I am busting with ideas for the blog, I am even thinking about a new lay-out, and I am oh so ready to start posting again. Which is why I thought it fitting to start with this month’s salad…even though it’s a little different.

If I had to describe this year’s August in one word, it would be: HOT. Temperatures in Germany have really hit the roof this year, and it feels like I’m back in Tanzania, sweating the entire day and still running around in hotpants at 10 pm. I’ve been gulping down about 4 litres daily, if not more, and eating a lot throughout the day seems impossible when it’s so warm.

A week ago today I was celebrating my 24th birthday with my family, and it was such a beautiful day. I absolutely love my birthday, and get excited about it just as much as when I was a kid. I guess I love the concept of having one day where the world revolves around moi. 🙂 I got so many cool presents, too…my sister got me a beautiful chinese cup for tea or coffee, and my mom gave me her old juicer as a present. Of course, I had to put it to use immediately and made two different juices last week: Carrot-Apple-Ginger and Cucumber-Melon-Mint.

2015-08-05 13.17.05

Both were delicious, and I can’t wait to start juicing again now that I’m back from camp!

2015-08-05 13.23.26

August also marks the month I finally found out where I’ll be starting to teach come September! I will have to move 3 hours away, and the past weekend has been crazy figuring out where I’ll be living. My Dad drove with me to go apartment hunting, and I really couldn’t have had more luck, as I found a beautiful 2-room apartment for a more than reasonable price, fully furnished and with the sweetest old couple as my landlords. I’m in a strange mix of excitement and suspense about moving away. The only sad thing is that my boyfriend and I will be separated for a school year, but I’m confident we’ll be alright.

Additionally, I bought a new laptop, as my old one has some serious psychological issues and frequently decides not to charge eventhough it’s connected to the power supply. I got myself a Surface Pro 3, which has been quite an investment, but I really couldn’t be more satisfied. My lovely boyfriend even bought me a larger screen and keyboard to go along with it, which means I am now working with the ultimate equipment:
2015-08-11 17.04.56

Pretty amazing, right?

Okay, let’s get down to this month’s salad, though. As I’ve mentioned, this month has been the hottest one yet, and it’s almost impossible to eat anything that’s not nicecream or equally cold. I therefore decided that this month I wouldn’t make a savory salad, but one perfect for a light, delicous breakfast!

2015-08-11 09.40.11

It’s so easy that it barely requires a recipe, which is kind of where I am at concerning my cooking at the moment, because any time spent over a hot stove is just too much when it’s 40°C outside (and inside our roof apartment).

2015-08-11 09.35.53

This “salad” is perfected by a healthy drizzle of coconut butter (which is perfectly molten at room temperature when it’s this warm). Without it, this is really just honeydew melon (with a little special dressing). I seriously recommend adding it to the cooled melon, as it’ll firm up as it cools down, and will be like a white chocolate cover on top!!! Anybody not on board!?

The August Salad: Breakfast Melon Salad

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a honeydew melon, cooled
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • a handful of balm (or mint)
  • 1-2 tsp. molten coconut butter

Procedure:

1. Cut out melon dice out of your melon half carefully and place in separate bowl.

2. Mix the lime juice with chopped balm (or mint), and then “dress” the melon cubes.

3. Fill the dressed melon cubes back into the melon half and drizzle 1-2 tsp. of the coconut butter on top. Enjoy immediately!

2015-08-11 09.25.08

2015-08-11 09.27.53 2015-08-11 09.29.30 2015-08-11 09.33.35 2015-08-11 09.35.33

2015-08-11 09.35.43

If you don’t want to enjoy this for breakfast, feel free to serve it as dessert. You could try mixing different types of melon as well!

2015-08-11 09.39.47

Okay, that’s all for today. I promise I’ll be back to posting more regularly again – but I’m sure you all are super busy during these summer months as well, right? 🙂 Tell me what you’re up to these days, I’d love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

