Cucumber Apple Smoothie

I went to bed really early last night: by 10 pm, I was already in my PJs! Seeing as my weekend was filled with quite a lot of partying – first at a friend’s bachelorette party all Friday, then a birthday party Saturday night – I was completely swiped. I am not big on alcohol drinking, usually, but lately there just have been more occasions than usually that tempt you to seize the day. 🙂 Which is normal for summer, I think.

Drinking alcohol does not always mean the same thing for everybody. I don’t tolerate a lot of it without having the worst hangover ever, which is why I often shy away from drinking. When I do, I try to focus on drinking the “pure” stuff, no cocktails or long drinks or mixtures of any kind, so I mostly focus on either wine (preferably dry), straight up tequila or, very rarely, beer. I despise coke, so no Cuba Libres for me (had to learn the hard way after drinking one at said birthday party on Saturday).

Not drinking a lot has it’s effect on your social life, at least first. Especially if you’re in a clique where get-togethers are almost always accompanied by alcohol (which, if we’re being honest, is the case with any clique of grown-ups, isn’t it?!), you’re going to earn some stares and comments if you decide not to drink. I have had a tough year concerning that issue, but I feel like everybody has accepted the fact that I don’t want to drink every weekend (even if it’s just a glass of wine). Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like my friends are all alcoholics, but we live in a vinter’s region, and therefore we have some of the best wine around, and everybody grows up with it.

To sum it up: I don’t drink very often, and when I do, I pay my dues the next day. So going to bed at 10 pm last night was the perfect way to jump start my week and hit the reset button on my energy levels…which totally worked! I got up at a quarter to seven today, and went for a fast run, and then came home to feel completely awake and happy. It rarely happens that way, but when it does, it’s so awesome!!!

For breakfast, I made myself a smoothie using an overripe apple I had left-over from last week. My boyfriend took the pretty apple to work, so all I had was the slightly soft apple that had lost its looks…but I am not one to discriminate, and in my smoothie it went. 🙂

2015-08-17 08.35.17

Today’s smoothie turned out so beautifully green I couldn’t really believe it. Must be due to the monster romaine lettuce leaves I added, which I got at our local turkish market (my favorite place to buy veggies of late, it’s always so delicious and much cheaper than at the store).

Cucumber Apple Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 3 min.
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 overripe, small apple
  • 1 small cucumber
  • 4 big romaine lettuce leaves
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 tsp. hemp protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp. barley grass powder (optional)
  • 1 cup coconut water/milk
  • 6 icecubes

Procedure:

1. Place all the ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth.

2. Add more icecubes if it’s not cold enough!

This smoothie is wonderfully sweet, and you can’t taste the “green” at all, in my opinion. The apple adds a slight tartness, which I love, and the cucumber makes it perfectly refreshing after a workout!

DSC_1409

2015-08-17 08.32.16 2015-08-17 08.33.45

2015-08-17 08.34.10

I am off to pack all my things still in my apartment at university, as I’ll be moving in September…but first, I’m going to pack myself a nice veggie lunch. I’m loving packing my lunch lately, who knows why…those are my “mom” genes coming through, I guess.

2015-08-17 08.35.10

Have a nice Monday, everybody! Let me know what yours is like.

Leave a Reply

