Roasted Salmon With A Lemon Yogurt Dill Sauce And Broccoli

As promised in my Track it Tuesday post yesterday, I am sharing the recipe for my dinner last night. I absolutely adored last night’s dinner. You know when you are planning to make something new, and have a very specific idea about how it’s supposed to turn out? Well, I will gladly boast that with this dish, it turned out EXACTLY the way I wanted it to. The lemon yogurt dill sauce in particular makes me so proud – it’s made with sheep’s greek yogurt, and a whole bunch of fresh dill, which is the most amazing combo ever.

Last weekend, I felt completely uninspired concerning my blog. However, ever since announcing that I was not feeling as innovative in the kitchen, I feel my creative juices flowing again – how ironic! But it’s so good to be back to blogging regularly, seriously. I am even recooking and reshooting some of my older recipes; some of my earliest recipes need some tweaking, and, more importantly, need better pictures. I didn’t know what the heck I was doing back then (not that I know that much more now, but I am learning, I think). Just compare these two pictures:

IMG_02992015-08-18 19.20.56

(My Simplest Tomato Salad Ever)

A huge difference, right? I am still working with my phone camera, but I feel like I am getting the photo “styling” down a lot more. Perhaps because I’m more involved on Instagram now and I get lots of inspiration from other people? Whatever it is, I feel like I’m really developing concerning my photography, and I am definitely proud of that.

Coming back to last night’s dinner: I discovered the true secret to preparing salmon with a crunchy crust yet juicy, delicious center. I find that when you roast salmon in your pan until you’ve achieved a brown, crunchy crust, it just ends up being too dry. Yesterday, I decided to very briefly roast it in a very hot pan, and then transfer it to the oven for 20 minutes…and it worked perfectly! The outside was crispy, and the inside perfectly juicy. First reason for excitement: CHECK!

Let’s get to the sauce, then. I am not a big fan of sauce, I usually don’t even need any. My boyfriend, however, bathes his food in sauce. It is therefore of the utmost importance that a) the sauce tastes good and b) there’s enough sauce. I recently found some 6% sheep’s yogurt at my local supermarket, which I got really excited about. I have been craving yogurt insanely these past weeks, hence my recent post about vegan yogurt bowls, but the soy just really wasn’t cutting it. This sheep’s greek yogurt is the real deal, and I absolutely loved it in the lemon dill sauce I made. Granted, it makes this dish non-vegan, but I figure that went out the window at “salmon”.

When making new dishes, I am always very focussed on using fresh herbs. If you used the dried kind in summer, that’s honestly just kind of…lazy, in my opinion. Why use the dried herb mixes if you can grow them on your balcony or, if you’re lucky enough, in your garden? I truly believe that fresh herbs make EVERY dish better. Including the lemon yogurt dill sauce featuring a whole bunch of fresh dill, as mentioned in my intro.

2015-08-18 19.29.11

Don’t freak out when looking at the recipe: It took me an hour to make this, but only because I was taking pictures! This can be made in half an hour if you’re not worried about the single pots “looking good”.

Roasted Salmon With A Lemon Yogurt Dill Sauce And Broccoli

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 fresh head of broccoli
  • 1.5L vegetable stock
  • 3 salmon filets
  • 2 tsp. rose-salt (or normal salt)
  • 2 Tbs. sesame oil
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 tsp. dijon mustard
  • 1 bunch fresh dill, chopped
  • 2 Tbs. freshly pressed lemon juice
  • 400g sheep’s yogurt
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper

as a side: basmati rice

Procedure:

1. Preheat the oven to 200°C (390°F) and prepare a small casserole dish to place your salmon in later.

(Start cooking your rice if you are making it as your side.)

2. In a large pot, bring the 1.5L of vegetable stock to a boil.

3.  Cut the broccoli into smaller florets, rinse it, and then place in the boiling water for 15 min.

4. In a large pan, heat the 2 Tbs. of sesame oil, and, once the oil starts sizzling, place the 3 salmon filets in the pan. Sprinkle with 1 tsp. of the rose-salt, then flip after 30 seconds (!) of roasting. Sprinkle the other tsp. of rose-salt on top, then take out of the pan after a total of 1 minute roasting (30 seconds each side).

5. Place the salmon in the casserole, and put in the oven until serving.

6. Add the chopped yellow onion to the pan used for roasting the salmon, and stir well. After 1 minute, add the minced garlic, and pour the wine on top. Stir in the mustard, and combine well.

7. Take 1/2 cup of the vegetable stock used to boil the broccoli, and add the pan. Add the lemon juice and dill, and bring to a boil.

8. Once the sauce is boiling, turn off the heat completely. After 2 minutes, stir in the yogurt, salt and pepper. Do not bring to a boil again, as the yogurt will crumble.

9. Drain the broccoli and keep warm until serving.

10. Taste the lemon yogurt dill sauce and add more salt or lemon juice, as you desire.

The trick to making the sauce is having all the ingredients already chopped BEFORE you start making the sauce. Once you heat the pan, you’ll need to move very quickly and won’t have the time to start chopping.

See the steps for the sauce:

2015-08-18 18.34.35

2015-08-18 18.43.27 2015-08-18 18.55.21

2015-08-18 18.57.30

…and the steps for the salmon:

2015-08-18 18.46.24

2015-08-18 18.47.39 2015-08-18 18.48.34

2015-08-18 19.28.33

The broccoli is simple enough…it’s only boiled, after all!

2015-08-18 18.35.072015-08-18 19.24.24

When serving this dish, or any equally delicious dish, it’s important to arrange it all nicely on your table and plate. 🙂 Only then will you receive enough “oooohs” and “aaaaahs” from your family members before they taste it. After they taste it, they will automatically be convinved.

2015-08-18 19.30.14

2015-08-18 19.35.55

As you can see, I served my salmon with a side of basmati rice mixed with wild rice, as well as a side tomato salad (linked above). I am loving tomatoes these days, they’re always best during tomato season!

2015-08-18 19.35.26

Leave a Reply

