Honeymelon Avocado Smoothie

Okay, so combining honeymelon and avocado may not be your “typical” combo, but I had half of both lying around in my fridge and so I thought I’d get experimental before both go bad. And, after I went a little crazy with adding almost all the fruit I had, I came up with a mix that is both creamy, thick, refreshing, somehow soothing and wonderfully lightly sweet. Sometimes we really just need to go with our instincts when making smoothies, and not think too much about the ingredients on their own, but rather if they have similar flavors or textures that are going to compliment each other…and that way cool smoothies like this honeymelon avocado smoothie are “born”!

I haven’t really been into smoothies this past week, for whatever reason…but this one turned it around for me. Rather than going for the carrot bread I told you about in my previous post, I gulped down a huge serving for breakfast, and ended up scooping out spoonfuls of the other for dessert that night after dinner. It’s such a great mix of creamily thick and light and summery that I can’t decide whether I prefer it as a smoothie or smoothie bowl yet. 🙂

I got some new followers this week, which has me so excited! I am always so happy to see people are taking an interest in my blog, my posts, my rambling, me in general. Let’s hope this “weird” smoothie I’m about to present isn’t going to scare you guys off.

2015-08-19 08.12.50

It’s a green smoothie without any leafy green – that kind’a got me excited right from the start. I love food that “fools” you – what does that say about me, I wonder?!

2015-08-19 08.13.16

Even though honeymelon itself is very sweet, when I mixed the avocado in there, I ended up not having enough “citric” sweetness for my taste, so I thought I’d add a handful of grapes. It worked wonders, and really gave the smoothie that extra kick.

Honeymelon Avocado Smoothie

  • Servings: 2 large
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 honeymelon, cubed and prefrozen
  • 1 small cucumber
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 cup/handful of green grapes
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1/2 tsp. barley grass powder (optional)
  • 1 Tbs. ground flax (optional, but recommended)

Procedure:

1. Put all the ingredients in a blender and pulse until creamy and thick. Add more water if you like, for your desired texture.

Note: Keeps very well in the fridge overnight! Simply place in an airtight glass jar, and shake well the next morning.

I have tried saving smoothie left-overs very often only to find that they just no longer tasted good a day later – but in this case, there is barely a difference in taste. If anything, you can taste the avocado a little bit more the next day.

2015-08-19 07.59.33

If you don’t have any honeymelon frozen, feel free to add it as is, but add some icecubes instead of a cup of water.

2015-08-19 08.05.56 2015-08-19 08.06.06

I love how the grapes take this smoothie to another level – as I already mentioned above. So, go ahead, try this smoothie this coming week, but feel free to experiment with what you have in your kitchen. You may be surprised how tasty your smoothie turns out!

2015-08-19 08.12.59

Leave a Reply

