Single Serving Pure Chocolate Nicecream

Eventhough it hasn’t been a particularly warm day, I was really craving nicecream today. I haven’t had it in such a long time, I guess it was one of those cases where your tastebuds suddenly remember something delicious it once had, and you just need to have it right that second. As I was having it for dessert, I didn’t feel like a fruity version, but it had to be chocolate tonight. Pure, rich, intense chocolate. So, one single serving pure chocolate nicecream coming up!

The thing about having nicecream for dessert for me is finding the right amount – I always end up making too much. If you remember me making my espresso soft-serve, I ended up gulping down the whole batch I made, and, let me tell you, it didn’t end well…it IS possible to have too much of everything, let me tell you. Anyways, so in this case, I thought I’d make a single serving from the start, that way I wouldn’t be tempted to have too much or have to figure out what I’d do with left-overs. Scratch that, you can’t save nicecream for the next day, so I’d just have eaten it all, even if it had been too much. No self-restraint here concerning nicecream. πŸ™‚

2015-08-24 20.30.52

What I figured out recently is that by not adding the cacao powder directly into the nicecream, you’ll get a much fluffier and creamier result. Mix it with a little water and sweetener beforehand, and then add it to your frozen banana slices. Not only will your blender have an easier time, but it’ll also be quicker, and the nicecream more even in texture.

I also like adding a spoonful of coconut cream to my nicecream if I’m having it for dessert and not breakfast, as it just makes it that much more decadent and a little “mousse”-like, which I love. And, additionally, it adds that hint of coconut flavor which is to die for, in my opinion…but, trust me, it’s completely optional!!!

2015-08-24 20.34.43

Single Serving Pure Chocolate Nicecream

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 frozen banana slices
  • 1 Tbs. coconut cream (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. unsweetened cacao powder
  • 1 tsp. date sweetener
  • 2 Tbs. water
  • 1 Tbs. chocolate chips (85% dark chocolate) (optional)

Procedure:

1. Take the banana out of the freezer and allow to thaw for 5 minutes.

2. Place the banana slices and coconut cream in a food processor or blender, and pulse several times until the banana is broken down into little pieces.

3. In a separate bowl, mix the cacao powder with the water and date sweetener until smooth and creamy. Add this cacao-mixture to the food processor/blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

4. Fill into serving bowl or glass, and sprinkle some chocolate chips on top, if using.

I like to use my food processor to make nicecream, but a blender works just as well!

2015-08-24 20.26.21 2015-08-24 20.27.35

If you feel like the nicecream is too liquid after all that blending, feel free to place it back in the freezer for 15 minutes before serving…in that case you’ll need to whisk through it again after freezing, using a spoon.

2015-08-24 20.30.00

You absolutley don’t need to sprinkle chocolate chips on top. Alternatively, you could add some dessicated coconut, or even a spoonful of peanutbutter!

2015-08-24 20.31.15

But, you know, chocolate chips are always a good option. πŸ™‚

2015-08-24 20.32.09

I’m in chocolate heaven right now, so I’ll leave you to scroll back up to stare at the pictures. Have a good night, and stay tuned for Track it Tuesday tomorrow!2015-08-24 20.37.12

2 thoughts on “Single Serving Pure Chocolate Nicecream

  1. Hey you, so glad you found me! It’s always so cool to connect, thanks for saying hi! Let me know if you try any of my recipes, I’m always happy to hear your feedback. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

